Alohas record-breaking senior tailback Tyner is named Player of the Year

The 2012 season marked yet another banner year for the Metro League in football, and the state’s coaches agreed this CHASE ALLGOOD - ALL-STATER - Beaverton senior defensive end Evan Colorito was named to the Class 6A all-state football first team last week, one of 18 Metro League players honored.

Metro players were honored 18 times on the 2012 all-state lists, with Aloha senior tailback Thomas Tyner racing away with one of the year’s top three awards — he was named Class 6A Offensive Player of the Year for the second time in three seasons.

The University of Oregon-bound Tyner’s year was highlighted by two staggering achievements, setting Oregon records for single-game rushing and single-season rushing.

The single-game record came when he rushed for 643 yards and 10 touchdowns against Lakeridge in non-league play, and he broke the single-season rushing record in his final 2012 game, finishing his year with 3,415 yards and 45 touchdowns for the Warriors.

Besides Tyner, three other Metro stars won berths on the Class 6A all-state first team, including Jesuit senior tackle Andrew Kirkland and Aloha senior tackle Brayden Kearsley, on offense, and Beaverton senior linebacker Evan Colorito on defense.

Named to the all-state second team from the Metro League were: Southridge junior wide receiver Jordan Morgan and Southridge lineman Eric Martin on offense, and Jesuit junior defensive end Christian Martinek, Beaverton senior cornerback Malik Fontleroy-Smith, and Southridge senior punter Kevin McClean on defense.

Local players recognized on all-state honorable mention teams were:

On offense, Sunset senior running back Bruce Jones, Southridge senior wide receiver Justin Calo, Sunset senior wide receiver Ryan Hendry, Jesuit junior tight end Henry Mondeaux, Aloha senior center A.J. McCollum, and Jeuit senior center Doug Brenner.

And on defense, Aloha senior lineman Michael Kluge, Southridge senior cornerback Alec Powell, and Jesuit senior cornerback Buddy Webb.

Connor Strahm of Sheldon was named Defensive Player of the Year after leading the Irish to the Class 6A state championship, while Sheldon’s Lane Johnson was named Coach of the Year.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine