The Canby midget federal team ran the table after losing in the opening round of the tournament to take first place.

Photo Credit: SUBMITTED PHOTO - The team of Joe Brauckmiller, Owen Breihof, Mkey Gibson, Isaac Hertzog, Casey Langdale, Clayton Langdale, Theo Netter, Zach Netter, Kellan Oakes, Tom O'Neil, Dominik Pepper and Eli Pierson won the state tournament in the midget federal divison.

The Canby midget federal team won its second consecutive state title, defeating McMinnville in the championship game. And it all happened off the aluminum of Mikey Gibson’s bat. In the third inning of said game, Gibson stepped up to the plate with the bases loaded and the score tied 1-1. He subsequently walloped an incoming pitch over a 20-foot net and onto a roof of a neighboring house to give Canby a 5-1 lead.

“It was a beautiful sight to see,” coach Matt Brauckmiller said.

Canby never relinquished its lead and ended the game with a 6-2 advantage. Canby finished the tournament 4-1 and lost to none other than McMinnville in the opening round of the tournament. However, they reached the championship game via the loser’s bracket and avenged their early tournament loss.

Brauckmiller said the difference in his team’s play was simply: “They made more plays the second time around.”

Brauckmiller credits a talented group of players and a supportive community for the team’s back-to-back titles.

He described his feelings after the final pitch was caught: “I was excited for the kids. They worked hard this year.”

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine