Trayton Libolt, Colbran Meeker, and Tyler Berger win individual championships as Cowboys dominate tournament

The Crook County Cowboys flexed their muscles Saturday by winning the Reser’s Tournament of Champions wrestling showcase by a wide margin over a field loaded with the state’s top teams. by: PHOTO COURTESY OF DAVID BALL/ GRESHAM OUTLOOK - Tyler Berger works to pin Tom Winningham of Crater in the 152-pound championship at the Reser Tournament of Champions. Berger pinned all four of his opponents as he won his fourth consecutive Reser individual championship.

The Cowboys crowned three champions and put a wrestler into the semifinals in 11 of the 14 weight classes. Crook County piled up 274 points over the two-day tournament held in Hillsboro, coming out 50 points ahead of runner-up Roseburg. The tournament brings in 24 of the elite programs in the state across all classifications.

“I love coming here. You get a chance to see how you match up against all the divisions,” Crook County’s Colbran Meeker said. “You really get to know who’s the best at each weight.”

Tyler Berger supplied the finishing touch to the title run by scoring a second-round pin over Crater’s Tom Winningham in the 152-pound finale — the last bout of the night.

Berger took quick command by lifting Winningham’s leg in the center circle and swatting away his arm leaving his opponent with a bloody nose 30 seconds into the action. Berger built a 12-2 lead before finishing Winningham off with a fall midway through the second period.

He pinned all four of his opponents over the weekend, needing less than a minute to finish off two of them. It marked the fourth straight TOC crown for Berger, who has signed to wrestle at Nebraska next season.

I’ve been watching this tournament since middle school — it’s a dream come true, it’s going to take a moment for it to soak in,” Berger said. “I want to put on a relentless attack, wear the other guy out and make him want to quit.”

by: PHOTO COURTESY OF DAVID BALL/GRESHAM OUTLOOK - Colbran Meeker hangs on to Ricky Molinari of David Douglas during the 145-pound championship match at the Reser Tournament of Champions. Meeker won the title with a 9-3 decision.Colbran Meeker scored a 9-3 win over David Douglas senior Ricky Molinari in the 145-pound final. Meeker took quick command with a takedown and near-fall near the edge of the mat shortly after the opening whistle.

“I was lucky enough to keep him in bounds. He rolled out, but I had enough mat to work with and was able to pull him back in,” Meeker said. “I got those early points and just had to keep the pressure on.”

Meeker pinned three of four opponents on his way to the finals.

Trayton Libolt got Crook County’s night off to a strong start with an 8-5 win over No. 1 seed Casey Coulter of Grants Pass in the 113-pound title bout. Coulter tripped out a leg for a takedown and a 4-3 lead at the end of the second period, but Libolt answered with a takedown and near-fall for the winning points with a minute remaining.

“Going into that last round down, I knew I needed to push the pace,” Libolt said. “I got in on his leg and knew I’d be able to get back points.”

Crook County had two other wrestlers reach the finals with Kurt Mode falling 8-6 to Sweet Home’s Tyler Schilling in the 120-pound title bout. Mode had his first two takedown attempts tumble out of the circle before planning Schilling face first in the center of the mat for a 2-0 lead at the end of the first period. But Schilling put together a four-point spurt at the start of the third round to build a sizeable gap.

Mode opened the tournament with a pin and knocked off No. 2-seed Devin Poppen of Oregon City by a 10-4 count in the semifinals.

Zach Smith also reached the finals at 195 pounds before dropping a 17-2 technical fall against two-time Greco national champion Samuel Shields-Colbray out of Hermiston.

Smith picked up two pins on his way to the finals, highlighted by a fall over No. 2-seed Mikel Farley of Glide in the semifinals.

Grayson Munn won a tight 12-8 decision over Century’s Amari Sengsavanh in the third-place bout at 132 pounds. The top two seeds in the bracket were tied 8-8 entering the final two minutes, but Munn was the only one to score points down the stretch.

“I could feel him breaking underneath me and knew he was giving up,” Munn said. “I knew I was mentally tougher to win that third round.”

by: PHOTO COURTESY OF DOUG SMITH - The Crook County High School varsity and JV wrestling teams pose with the trophies they won for finishing first at the Reser Tournament of Champions. Crook County is the first team in tournament history to win both the varsity and JV tournaments in the same year. The varsity team scored 274 points to finish 50 points ahead of second place Roseburg. The JV team edged Roseburg scoring 294 points to 284.5 for Roseburg.Also placing for the Cowboys was senior Jason Williams (third at 285), junior Trevor Rasmussen (third at 220), junior Ryder Shinkle (fourth at 138), junior Brendan Harkey (fourth at 160), junior Gunnar Robirts (fifth at 182) and sophomore Terran Libolt (sixth at 103).

The Cowboys compiled a 38-11 record in championship-bracket bouts during the two-day tournament.

Crook County also won the JV tournament with 294 points, edging Roseburg by 9.5. Weight-class winners for the Cowboys were Trey Shores (120), Hayden Bates (132), Michael Seyl (138), Aaron Swindle (182) and Curtis Crouch (220).

View a photo gallery from Saturday’s placing matches at

Reser Tournament of Champions

Friday and Saturday,

January 24-25

Varsity team scores — 1. Crook County, 274. 2. Roseburg, 224. 3. Hillsboro, 158. 4. Dallas, 128.5. 5. Hermiston, 112.5. 6. David Douglas, 110.5. 7. Glide, 90.5. 8. Pendleton, 89. 9. Century, 84.5. 10. Crater, 79. 11. Oregon City, 77. 12. Eagle Point, Sandy, 76. 14. Tualatin, 69.5. 15. Glencoe, 68. 17. Grants Pass, 64. 18. Canby, 60. 19. Lebanon, 56.5. 20. Cascade, 53. 21. Culver, 51. 22. McNary, Sprague, 43. 24. Redmond, 40.

Individual placers (first place and all Crook County placers)

106 — 1. Cody Bibler, Dallas. 6. Terran Libolt, Crook County. 113 — 1. Trayton Libolt, Crook County. 120 — 1. Tyler Schilling, Sweet Home. 2. Kurt Mode, Crook County. 126 — 1. Brennan Baccay, Century. 132 — 1. Cole Van Anrooy, Roseburg. 3. Grayson Munn, Crook County. 138 — 1. Layne Van Anrooy, Roseburg. 4. Ryder Shinkle, Crook County. 145 — 1. Colbran Meeker, Crook County. 152 — 1. Tyler Berger, Crook County. 160 — 1. Spencer Crawford, Cascade. 4. Brendan Harkey, Crook County. 170 — 1. Tanner Fischer, Oregon City. 182 — 1. Max Hane, Roseburg. 5. Gunnar Robirts, Crook County. 195 — 1. Samuel Shields-Colbray, Hermiston. 2. Zach Smith, Crook County. 220 — 1. Osawaru Odighizuwa, David Douglas. 3. Trevor Rasmussen, Crook County. 285 — 1. Alejandro Sandoval, Canby. 3. Jason Williams, Crook County

JV team scores — 1. Crook County, 294. 2. Roseburg, 284.5. 3. Glencoe, 130. 4. Dallas, 122.5. 5. Hillsboro, 116. 6. Eagle Point, Sprague, 109. 8. Sweet Home, 106. 9. David Douglas, 101. 10. Redmond, 98. 11. Lebanon, 81. 12. Grants Pass, 80.5. 13. Century, 75.5. 14. Crater, 75. 15. Culver, 71.5. 16. Canby, Cascade, 65. 18. Hermiston, 60. 19. Pendleton, 58. 20. McNary, 51. 21. Oregon City, 49. 22. Glide, 41. 23. Sandy, 34. 24. Tualatin.

Crook County individual placers 106 — 6. Jared Wheeler. 113 — 3. Johnny Avina. 120 — 1. Trey Shores. 126 — 4. Zach Lawson. 132 — 1. Hayden Bates. 138 — 1. Michael Seyl. 145 — 2. Cole Ovens. 152 — 3. John Crites. 182 — 1. Aaron Swindle. 195 — 3. Diego Vargas. 220 — 1. Curtis Crouch.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine