Commended Students announced

West Linn High School students honored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation
by: Jim Hart,

West Linn High School Commended Students were announced recently by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

From top row left: Alexander Edwards, Sambaran Chatterjee, William Farnbach; Center row from left: William Letsou, Michael Blauvelt, Daniel Walinsky; Bottom row left: Hannah Cochran and Elizabeth Farrell. Kelli Walters is not pictured.

Commended scholars were among the 50,000 students who scored highest on the PSAT. That group included the best of the one million students tested nationally. The top 16,000 of that group were designated semifinalists, while the other 34,000 are commended students.

Commended Students are named on the basis of a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states.

Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards, some of these students become candidates for scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses, according to the NMSC Web site.

Established in 1955, the NMSC is an independent, not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance.

Since its beginning, the NMSC's goals have remained to identify and honor academically talented U.S. high school students; to stimulate increased support for their education; and to provide efficient and effective scholarship program management for organizations that wish to sponsor college undergraduate scholarships, as stated on their Web page.

For more MNSC information visit the Web page at