Area stars set to play in Babe Ruth World Series

The 10-team event will start Saturday up in Washington

EPHRATA, Wash. - A group of area high school baseball stars will get to take on some of the best teams and players from around the country.

And they get a chance to vie for a World Series title at the same time.

Tigard, Tualatin and Sherwood high schools are all well represented on the Portland Baseball Club ages 18U Babe Ruth team that earned a spot in the Babe Ruth World Series.

The events will start on Saturday and run through Aug. 13 at Johnson-O'Brien Stadium in Ephrata, Wash.

Playing for the Portland Baseball Club team are 2011 Tigard High School graduates Kyler Garcia, T.J. Pruneda and Spencer Smith, 2011 Tualatin graduates Austin Richmond and Corey VanDomelen and 2011 Sherwood graduates Tanner Kichler and Jordan Ramp.

The Portland Baseball Club squad will go to the World Series as the Pacific Northwest regional champion.

The Portland team earned that title by scoring a 4-1 win over Wilder Baseball in the regional championship game played July 24 in Port Angeles, Wash. Kichler turned in a complete-game pitching performance in the title tile.

In the regional semifinals played earlier that day, Portland scored a 4-1 win over Kitsap, Wash. Richmond pitched the first six innings of that game, giving up one run while striking out 10. Pruneda pitched a scoreless seventh.

Portland Baseball Club takes an overall record of 38-10 into the World Series.

Portland will open series play Saturday when it faces Noblesville, Ind., the Ohio Valley regional champion, in a National Division pool play game set to start at 2 p.m.

On Sunday, Portland will face Cape Cod, Mass., the New England regional champion, in an 11 a.m. pool play contest. On Monday, Portland will play Eagle Pass, Texas, the Southwest regional champ, in a pool play game starting at 2 p.m.

On Tuesday, Portland will end its pool play schedule as it takes on Northern Washington state champion Puget Sound in a game starting at 5 p.m.

Single-elimination bracket play starts next Thursday. The championship game is set to start at 4 p.m. on Aug. 13.