The Portland chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame honored 16 outstanding high school football players Wednesday night at its 47th annual scholar-athlete banquet.

Sherwood lineman Spencer Wolfley was named scholar-athlete of the year.

Amity's Logan Umbarger was selected as lineman of the year. Kyle Johnson of Tualatin was chosen as back of the year.

Each of the 16 finalists will receive a scholarship. The other backs: Connor Kavanaugh, Lincoln; Sam McIntyre, Cleveland; Owen Marecic, Jesuit; Paul Stirneman, Putnam; Jacob Fenwick, Sandy; Colin McLeod, Wilsonville; and Thomas Crane, Scappoose. The other linemen: Brad Eckelmann, Lincoln; Pete Curtis, Cleveland; Kevin Frahm, Central Catholic; Sean Williams, Jesuit; Sean Field-Eaton, Tigard; and Lane Locke, West Linn. Kansas State coach Bill Snyder was the featured speaker at the banquet, which took place at the DoubleTree Hotel Jantzen Beach.

• The Portland Shockwave women's football team will hold its final official tryout for the 2007 season Saturday.

The Pacific Division champions of the Independent Women's Football League invite prospective players to a workout from 10 a.m. to noon at Northeast 42nd Avenue and Killingsworth Street. Tryout fee is $25. Cleats are recommended but not mandatory. Wear comfortable athletic clothing. For information, call 503-693-4844.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine