The 53rd annual Oregon Sports Awards, set for Jan. 30, will honor the best in the state in 2004.

The Harry Glickman Pro Athlete of the Year awards are among the prestigious award categories.

Male finalists for the Glickman award are Athens Olympics distance runner Dan Browne, running back Reuben Droughns of the Denver Broncos, Ottawa Senator hockey star Marian Hossa, U.S. Senior Open golf champion Peter Jacobsen and Blazer forward Zach Randolph.

Glickman female finalists are Olympic swimming gold medalist Inge DeBruijn, golfer Allison Hanna, boxer Molly McConnell, and Olympic track stars Maria Mutola and Marla Runyan.

Last year's winners were decathlete Tom Pappas and Mutola. Previous winners have included Runyan, Scott Brosius, Tiffeny Milbrett, Dave Husted, Clyde Drexler, Dale Murphy, Neil Lomax, Dan Fouts, Bill Walton, Geoff Petrie, Art Jones and Mickey Lolich.

The awards show will take place at the Tiger Woods Center at the Nike World Campus in Beaverton.

The show, which runs from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., will be televised live by KATU (2) and carried by simulcast on the Fan (1080 AM).

The Fan also will broadcast two hours of pre-event coverage, starting at 4:30 p.m.

Awards will go to athletes, coaches, teams, administrators and organizations in 14 categories Ñ including pro, amateur, small college, high school and Special Olympics. Winners will come from nearly 75 finalists who were selected by a statewide panel.

More than 20 sports celebrities will help Master of Ceremonies Bill Schonely present the awards.

Tickets are $50 and include beverages and hors d'oeuvres before the show, along with dessert and coffee afterward.

Doors will open at 4:30 p.m. For ticket information, call 503-721-7477, ext. 13.

The event is sponsored by Nike, the Portland Tribune, KATU, Standard TV & Appliance, Les Schwab Tire Centers, the Portland Trail Blazers and SportsOne Inc.

Ñ Tribune staff

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine