Five outstanding high school distance runners are in the race for the Nike-Steve Prefontaine Award.

Brianna Anderson-Gregg of Philomath, Meghan Armstrong of Tualatin, Stuart Eagon of Beaverton, Katie Leary of Klamath Union and Galen Rupp of Central Catholic are finalists for the award, which will be presented at the Oregon Sports Awards on Jan. 25.

More than 70 athletes, coaches, teams and other sports figures are in line to win the 15 awards that will be announced at the Oregon Sports Awards. The 90-minute stage show starts at 7 p.m. at the Tiger Woods Center at Nike Inc. in Beaverton.

Tickets are $50 each and are available by calling 503-721-7477, ext. 13.

The Nike-Prefontaine Award goes each year to the high school senior distance runner who, like the late Prefontaine, showed development, progress and eventually domination, with a high level of competitiveness and consistency.

Anderson-Gregg is a three-time Class 3A state cross country champion who also has won three individual state titles in track.

Armstrong is a two-time Class 4A state winner in the 1,500 and 3,000 meters. She captured one state cross country title.

Eagon qualified for the 2003 Foot Locker Nationals in cross country. He was third in the Class 4A state meet. He also placed fourth in the 2-mile national track event.

Leary won the Class 4A state cross country championship and the BorderClash girls race, an invitational featuring the top runners from Oregon and Washington.

Rupp finished second in the Foot Locker Nationals shortly after winning his second straight Class 4A state cross country crown. He also has titles in the boys BorderClash, the state 3,000 meters in track and the Pan-Am Junior Championships.

ÑTribune staff

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine