Recognizing Oregons best

Oregon Sports Awards celebrates state's top athletes, coaches and boosters in star-studded event

The Oregon Sports Awards will be a night of stars, past and present.

Detroit Lions quarterback Joey Harrington and former Trail Blazer forward Jerome Kersey will be the featured presenters at the show, which starts at 7 p.m. Sunday in the Tiger Woods Center at Nike headquarters in Beaverton.

Harrington and Kersey will help hand out 15 awards honoring the state's finest performances in 2003.

The high-tech stage show will salute the state's top pro, college, high school and Special Olympics athletes, along with the best coaches and contributors at various levels. Candidates must have an Oregon background (high school, college or residency) or have played for a pro team in the state.

Harrington won one of the most prestigious awards when he was named the Bill Hayward Amateur Male Athlete of the Year for the Oregon Ducks in 2001. Kersey was a driving force on the Blazers' 1989-90 squad that won the George Pasero Team of the Year award.

The Oregon Sports Awards are the successor to the Hayward Banquet, which ran from 1949 to 1997. A statewide media panel selected this year's winners.

Bill Schonely will be master of ceremonies for Sunday's show, which is sponsored by the Portland Tribune, Nike, KATU-TV and Standard TV & Appliance.

Other scheduled presenters include former NBA All-Star Terrell Brandon, world decathlon champion Tom Pappas and distance running greats Mary Slaney and Alberto Salazar.

Doors open at 5 p.m., and hors d'oeuvres and beverages will be served from 5:15 p.m. to 6:45 p.m. KATU (2) will televise the awards live from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Coffee and dessert will be served after the show. Tickets are $50 and are available by contacting Holly Davidson, 503-721-7477, ext. 13, or by e-mailing hdavidson

Bill Hayward Amateur Athletes of the Year

Men Ð Ian Dobson, Stanford University, track and field and cross country; Steven Jackson, Oregon State University, football; Luke Ridnour, University of Oregon, basketball; Grant Robison, Stanford University, track and field and cross country; Blake Stepp, Gonzaga University, basketball

Women Ð Nicole Barber, University of Georgia, softball; Becky Holliday, University of Oregon, track and field; Lindsey Huie, University of Portland, soccer; Daria Panova, University of Oregon, tennis; Christine Sinclair, Canadian national team and University of Portland, soccer

Harry Glickman Pro Athletes of the Year

Men Ð Nick Barnett, football; Ben Crane, golf; Peter Jacobsen, golf; Chad Johnson, football; Tom Pappas, track and field

Women Ð Inge DeBruijn, swimming; Shannon MacMillan, soccer; Tiffeny Milbrett, soccer; Maria Mutola, track and field; Marla Runyan, track and field and road running

Slats Gill Award (to a coach, administrator or organization)

Ernie Kent, University of Oregon, men's basketball; John Knight, Western Oregon University, track and field; Jay Locey, Linfield College, football; Danny Miles, Oregon Institute of Technology, men's basketball; Brad Smith, Oregon City High School, girls basketball

Ad Rutschman Small College Athletes of the Year

Men Ð Eric Bell, George Fox University, baseball; Pro Escobedo, Western Oregon University, track and field; Tyler Matthews, Linfield College, football; Dusty McGrorty, Southern Oregon University, football; Nick Symmonds, Willamette University, track and field

Women Ð Shelly Butcher, Concordia University, soccer; Kristina Matchett, Southern Oregon University, volleyball; Leah Moore, Linfield College, track and field and basketball; Jill Remiticado, Pacific University, wrestling; Sara Schipani, Lewis & Clark College, tennis

George Pasero Team of the Year

Linfield College, football; Oregon City High School, girls basketball; Richey's Market (Corvallis), American Legion baseball; University of Oregon, softball; University of Portland, women's soccer

Johnny Carpenter Prep Athletes of the Year

Men Ð Erik Ainge, Glencoe, baseball and football; Dallas Buck, Newberg, baseball; David Faaeteete, North Medford, football; Rob Folsom, North Medford, wrestling, baseball and football; Luke Hogle, Thurston, wrestling; Maarty Leunen, Redmond, basketball; Tyler Lulay, Regis, basketball, baseball and football; Mike McGrath, Lincoln, track and field; Galen Rupp, Central Catholic, track and field and cross country; Tommy Skipper, Sandy, track and field

Women Ð Brianna Anderson-Gregg, Philomath, track and field and cross country; Lauren Basham, Catlin Gabel, soccer; Ashley Birdsong, Taft, softball; Natalie Budge, Tualatin, soccer; Alicia Cook, Elmira, softball; Kristen Forristall, Oregon City, basketball; Jillian Harmon, Lakeridge, basketball; Deborah Jones, Benson, track and field; Kristen Svicarovich, Glencoe, golf; Lorilyn Wilson, Sprague, softball

Nike-Steve Prefontaine Award

Brianna Anderson-Gregg, Philomath; Meghan Armstrong, Tualatin; Stuart Eagon, Beaverton; Katie Leary, Klamath Union; Galen Rupp, Central Catholic

Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year

Jason Brodkorb, Philomath; Jennifer Deras, Portland; William Durfee, Milton-Freewater; Jennifer Hill, Turner; Laurie Hyde, Gresham

Les Schwab Friend of Sport Award

This award goes to a corporation, group or individual that has made sustained and substantial contributions to local sports programs or events. The first winner of the award was Les Schwab Tire Centers in 2003.

Merit Awards

Two winners will be announced at the show.