Eggers named sportswriter of the year


Kerry Eggers of the Portland Tribune has been named Oregon's 2003 sportswriter of the year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

Eggers has won the award four times in his nearly three decades of sports writing. He covers the NBA, the Trail Blazers, Oregon State football and basketball and other sports for the Tribune.

The other Oregon finalist was Tribune sports columnist Dwight Jaynes.

Eggers will be honored in May at the NSSA headquarters in Salisbury, N.C., along with Oregon's sportscaster of the year, Bill Schonely; the other state winners; national winners Rick Reilly of Sports Illustrated and Joe Buck of Fox Sports; and NSSA Hall of Fame inductees Joe Garagiola and Jerome Holtzman.

Schonely, the longtime voice of the Trail Blazers, has done radio play-by-play for the Portland Beavers since the Triple-A baseball team returned to town in 2001. Schonely now is a three-time Oregon sportscaster of the year.