The Oregon Recreation and Park Association honored the Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District with four achievement awards during the district’s Board of Directors meeting Monday evening.

Individuals singled out for their service to the association include Joe Blowers, board president, and Leslie Mundt, a program coordinator in the district’s Sports Department. The THPRD design team earned recognition for its work on recent extensive remodeling of the Elsie Stuhr Center on Hall Boulevard and the Aquatics Department for excellence in programming. Ann Satterfield, the Stuhr Center’s health and wellness program coordinator, was recognized as past president of the association.

The awards were announced at the association’s annual conference in Medford last month, and ORPA Executive Director Stephanie Redman recognized the winners at Monday’s monthly board meeting.

“It is a privilege to honor these professionals,” Redman said. “They care deeply about parks and recreation in Oregon, and ORPA, THPRD and the people of Oregon all benefit from their dedicated service.”

The association’s Natural Resources Section honored Blowers for his work during the past decade for “showing outstanding leadership, innovation, creativity and dedication in the natural resources field,” Redman said.

The association lauded Mundt for her longtime commitment to the organization’s Recreational Sports Section. She has served numerous times as section president and helped write legislation that led to what Redman called a highly successful sports training program for the association. A past president of ORPA, Mundt previously received the association’s David E. Clark Professional Honor Award in 2005 and its Special Citation Award in 2001.

The park district’s Stuhr Center, for patrons 55 and older, was selected for ORPA’s annual Design Award for a substantial renovation and expansion of the center earlier this year in downtown Beaverton. The structure’s design was a collaborative effort of staff, community volunteers and consultants led by Peter Foster from the district’s Planning Department and Tim Wybenga of TVA Architects.

The district’s Aquatics Department was honored for an initiative to increase attendance at its open swim sessions. Sabrina Taylor Schmitt, Aloha Swim Center supervisor, spearheaded the purchase of two large inflatable water toys.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine