Three artistic leaders soon to step down from the Portland cultural scene were honored Thursday with the Mayor's Award as part of the annual Spirit of Portland Awards.

Winners of the Mayor's Award were James DePreist, now in his last season as music director and conductor of the Oregon Symphony; James Canfield, outgoing artistic director of Oregon Ballet Theatre; and Robert Bailey, retiring in June as general director of Portland Opera.

Winners were selected based on their service to the community and service to citizens.

'I love the Spirit of Portland Awards,' Mayor Vera Katz said. 'It's the day each year we come together and celebrate the contributions these citizens have made to the Portland community.'

Other winners include:

• Neighborhood of the Year: Bridlemile Neighborhood Association, for its work on a busy agenda of neighborhood activities, including sidewalk siting, cleanups and contributions to the discussion on surplus school land.

• Volunteer Groups/Nonprofit Organizations: the Mississippi Historic District Target Area Project, for helping organize hundreds of volunteers for numerous neighborhood improvement projects, and the Piedmont Foot Patrol, which countered graffiti, violence, gangs and prostitution.

• Large Business of the Year: Legacy Emanuel Hospital & Health Center, for helping to revitalize Dawson Park.

• Small Business of the Year: Ladd Circle Grocery, for serving as an important community hub, and the Rev. Michael Maslowsky, for his nonprofit corporation, Village Enterprises, and its service to Southeast and North Portland.

• Nonprofit/Neighborhood Office Employees: Ginny Stromer, administrative assistant at Southwest Neighborhoods Inc., for her contributions to the community on a broad range of issues, and Phillip Kennedy-Wong, for helping neighbors better understand the complexities of land use laws.

• City Employee of the Year: Mary Jaron Kelley, for her commitment to the community beyond work time on the Urban Forestry program, Portland Public Schools and neighborhood associations.

• Individual Volunteers: Aleta Woodruff, Barbara Walker, Craig Mosbaek, Eunice Noell-Waggoner, Jeanne Rivers, Linda Bonder, Sharon Darcy, Steve Weir and Walt Myers for their numerous community projects.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine