A collection of stars in athletics will attend Sunday's Oregon Sports Awards.

Winners will be announced in 14 categories, from the top professionals to the best in high school sports, during the fast-paced stage show at the Tiger Woods Center on the Nike World Campus in Beaverton.

Special guest Clyde Drexler will help give out the awards. Other scheduled presenters include Jackie Stiles, Scott Brosius, Ad Rutschman, Peter Jacobsen, Dick Fosbury, Alberto Salazar, Mary Slaney, Rudy Chapa, Tinker Hatfield and Jonathan Stark.

The show starts at 7 p.m.,

after a 5:30 reception with hors d'oeuvres and beverages. Dessert and coffee will be served after the show, which will be emceed by Bill Schonely.

About 50 reserved seats remain. To order tickets, which are $40 each, call 503-721-7477, Ext. 111.

Sixty-eight finalists have been nominated for the individual and team awards. Most of the voting was done by a statewide media panel.

The show will be capped by the announcement of the Bill Hayward Amateur Athletes of the Year.

The Oregon Sports Awards, sponsored by Nike and the Portland Tribune, last year succeeded the Hayward Banquet, which began in 1948 and ran for 49 years.

Hayward men finalists are Mike Dunleavy, Steven Jackson, Fred Jones, Troy Polamalu and Luke Ridnour. Hayward women finalists are Kailin Downs, Lauren Orlandos, Felicia Ragland, Christine Sinclair and Lindsey Yamasaki.

Finalists for the Harry Glickman Pro Athlete of the Year Award are Greg Biffle, Bob Gilder, Chris Klug, Jermaine O'Neal and Gary Payton among the men, and Shannon MacMillan, Tiffeny Milbrett, Marla Runyan and DeMya Walker in the women's category.

'I remember the banquet from when I won,' says Drexler, who was named pro athlete of the year a record five times during his illustrious career with the Trail Blazers. 'I want to do anything I can to support this event.'

ÑÊTribune staff

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine