Unfortunately our website is having issues today. We are working diligently to resolve this problem. Please come back later.


City crime fighters to receive awards


Numerous citizens and Portland police officers were honored Monday by the Chief's Forum Ñ an advisory group to police Chief Mark Kroeker.

The winners include:

• Nathan Thomas Memorial Award: Detective Terry Wagner of Central Precinct for her work in investigating violent crimes against women and children.

• Special Recognition Award: officers Joshua Howery and Craig Mendenhall of Southeast Precinct for their tactics while handling a potentially volatile situation.

• Community Policing Problem Solving Award: John Farra for his work to reduce street drinking in the St. Johns area; the Homeless Youth Oversight Committee for establishing the Portland Police Bureau/Homeless Youth Continuum Partnership; officer Jeff Myers for his innovative efforts as a senior neighborhood officer; Ombudsman Services of Elders in Action for its work to alleviate the effects of elder abuse and crime victims; Xander Patterson, David Zundel and Jan Weston for their peacekeeping efforts during recent rallies and marches; Gary Schwindt for his community organizing efforts; and Howard Weiner for his crime-prevention efforts in the Old Town/Chinatown neighborhood.

• Certificate of Appreciation Award: officer Steve Andrusko for his work and dedication in addressing crime in Southwest Portland; officer Cliff Bacigalupi for his work with the community in the St. Johns Neighborhood Association; officer Jason Christensen for his efforts in resolving crime concerns in the Kenton Neighborhood Association; Tonya Dickens for helping to prevent youth involvement in gangs; officer Larry Graham for his exemplary efforts as a senior neighborhood officer; Ruth Hander for her work as chairwoman of the Madison South Neighborhood Association; Shirley Holmes, Sgt. Steven Larsen, Arlene Martinez, Diana McClure, Ann Panton and Mary Walker for ensuring that East Precinct officers' patrol cars are stocked with needed supplies; Geneva McArtor and R. Palmer Moore for serving as co-captains of the Binford Condominium Neighborhood Watch; and Barbara Quinn for organizing the Walk to School Safety Day for North Portland.

• Youth Recognition Certificate: Keystone Warriors of the Wattles Boys and Girls Club for service to the Portland community; and Charles A. McGee III for his community leadership efforts.