Awards night set for Oregons best


Votes are being tallied for the 52nd Oregon Sports Awards, a fast-paced show that will celebrate the best in the state for 2003.

The Oregon Sports Awards will take place Sunday night, Jan. 25, at Tiger Woods Center at Nike Inc. in Beaverton.

Fifteen awards will be presented during the show, which will be televised live by KATU (2) from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. The event is sponsored by the Portland Tribune, Nike, KATU, Les Schwab Tire Centers and Standard TV & Appliance.

The high-energy show, with video and music in a theater setting, honors sports figures with a state-of-Oregon background (high school, college or residency).

The Oregon Sports Awards succeeded the Hayward Banquet of Champions, which ran from 1948-96.

A statewide media panel will select 73 finalists and winners.

Traditionally, the leading awards go to the Bill Hayward Athletes of the Year, the top male and female amateur performers. Nominees this year include former University of Oregon basketball star Luke Ridnour, Oregon State running back Steven Jackson, UO pole vaulter Becky Holliday, University of Portland soccer player Lindsey Huie, and Canadian national team and UP soccer star Christine Sinclair.

Other awards up for grabs are the Harry Glickman Pro Athletes of the Year, male and female; the Johnny Carpenter Prep Athletes of the Year, male and female; the George Pasero Team of the Year; the Slats Gill Award, which goes to the outstanding coach, administrator or organization; the Ad Rutschman Small College Athletes of the Year, male and female; and the Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.

The Steve Prefontaine Award, presented by Nike, will go to the high school senior boy or girl who exemplifies the late runner's competitive traits.

And the Les Schwab Friend of Sports Award will be given to a corporation, group or individual for longtime support of sports or sports events in the state.

Tickets or sponsorships are available by calling 503-721-7477, ext. 13.

Ñ Tribune staff