Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Wilson, Osborne honored

Player, Coach earn TVL's top awards

   Tosha Wilson and Mike Osborne earned Madras High the top honors in voting for the Tri-Valley all-league girls basketball teams last week.
   Wilson, the White Buffalos senior point guard, added Player of the Year honors for this season to her all-league honors as a junior. She was Madras's most consistent double-figure scorer in its games this season and was one of the league's best in the steals category.
   Joining Wilson on the Tri-Valley first team all-league list for Madras was junior post player Elise Hawes.
   Jar‚ Retherford, Madras High's one other senior at the end of the season, made the Tri-Valley's all-league group as a second-team honoree. The 5-foot, 4-inch, guard emerged as one of the league's better three-point field goal shooters after having also earned all-league notice in volleyball.
   A fourth Buff, Rylee Sweeney, capped her junior season by earning recognition from the opposing Tri-Valley League coaches. Each coach voted for those not on their own team, Osborne noted. As a post player, Sweeney complements Hawes and is expected to continue doing so.
   Osborne earned the title Coach of the Year from his Tri-Valley peers in his third season as the Madras varsity coach. Earlier he coached basketball for the Buffs at junior varsity and middle school levels.
   The full list of first-team, second-team and honorable mention winners in the voting by the Tri-Valley coaches:
   First team --
   Wilson and Hawes plus
   Crystal Beck, Gladstone, Sr., G.
   Lisa Draney, Wilsonville, Sr., F.
   Kaitlin Poggi, Gladstone, Jr., G.
   Jessica Byrum, Sherwood, Jr., G.
   Second team --
   Retherford plus
   Cydney Topping, La Salle, Sr., F.
   Katherine Gram, Valley Catholic, Fr., G.
   Lois Eubanks, La Salle, Soph., F.
   Carlee Stinton, Sherwood, Jr., F.
   Honorable mention --
   Sweeney plus the following, by school: Estacada's Kasie Elliott (Sr), Brittany Golden (Sr) and Mia Wortel (Soph); Gladstone's Emily Cameron (Jr) and Emily Hibler (Sr); La Salle's Cara Criteser (Sr); Sherwood's Bethany Wetmore (Soph); The Dalles' Rachel Colbourne-Eagy (Sr); Valley Catholic's Mollie Haener (Sr), Mary Younkin (Jr) and Lindsay Gates (Jr) plus Wilsonville's Emily Ingalls (Jr).