About 200 run on July 4th

by: Photo By Bud Beamer - The Todd Beamer Independence Day 10-K Race gets set to start on a beautiful Fourth of July morning.

   Mike Donaghu, former Madras High standout track and cross-country runner, won the 10-kilometer event in the 10th annual Todd Beamer Independence Day Race on July 4.
   Donaghu -- who ran for Dartmouth after graduating from MHS, and who now works for Nike -- blistered the course in finishing 34:59.
   Current Madras High distance runner Freddy Hernandez was second, finishing in 36:24.
   The overall female winner was Anne Earnest, of Colorado Springs, Colo., who finished in 48:48. Sarah Ohman of Madras was second in 50:42.
   The 6.2-mile course began on Grizzly Road southeast of Madras and stayed on the road to C Street to the finish line at Sahalee Park.
   Jasper Gerhardt of Madras won the two-mile fun run. Gerhardt clocked a strong time of 12:52. Garrett Pruitt and Steven Scranton were second and third, in 12:56 and 12:59, respectively.
   Adam Farmer and his dog Amelia, who came down from Redmond, won the dog-and-me portion of the two-mile.
   There was also a six-mile walk, with Mary Carlson of Culver and Janice Alexander and Caree King of Madras leading the way, finishing in 1:16, 1:17 and 1:18, respectively.
   In all there were about 200 runners who took part in the Todd Beamer memorial race, which honors the man who was raised in Madras, was an outstanding athlete in school, and became a teacher. Beamer, the son of Dr. Bud Beamer, drowned in 1997 after, it is thought, he entered an irrigation ditch to try and rescue one of his dogs that had been running with him.
   Funds raised during the run go toward the Todd Beamer Spirit Scholarship, which this year was awarded to MHS graduate Gabe Sweeney, who participated in the two-mile.
   Todd Beamer Independence Day Race
10-K Results
   19-and-under: Freddy Hernandez 36:24, Brandon Thompson 40:12, Nathan Gerhardt 44.00. 20-29: Brad Courtney 40:52, Dan Stroup 61:01. 30-39: Michael Donaghu 34:59, Ryan Ness 37:33, Brett Whipple 41:12. 40-49: Steve Kurzer 44:55, Tom Millan 45:44, Dave Rosenfield 48:13. 50-49: John Watts 41:22, Dan O'Brien 48:41, Mike Ahern 51:09. 60-plus: Rick Utter 47:38, Chuck Alexander 50:26, Rick Lohman 51:30. Special Recognition: Don Hildebrand (age 74) 52:54.
   20-29: Anne Earnest 48:48, Amber Earnest 59:24, Lisa Miller 1:01. 30-39: Sarah Ohman 50:42, Laurie Ness 52:31, Lisa Porter 52:31.
   Two-Mile Fun Run - Male
   (Most times not reported)
   0-5 Kaden Gasso, Maleyna Gasso, Ben Evans; 6-10: Jasper Gerhardt (overall winner), Oliver Wisseman, Josh Hair; 11-15: Garrett Pruitt, John Wisseman. 16-19: Steven Scranton, Gabe Sweeney, Cameron Scranton; 20-29: Brian Manning; 30-plus: Bud Beamer, Chris Scranton, Chris Lytle.
   Two-Mile Fun Run - Female
   6-10: Piper Donaghu (overall winner), Abigail Nilen, Erin Kuncle; 11-15: Lacey Wisseman, Kaelynn Amis; 16-19: Susan Ahern; 30-plus: Karen Ziker, Kristen Peterson, Patti Lieuallen.
   Six Mile Walkers
   (Top Three) - Mary Carlson 1:16, Janice Alexander 1:17, Caree King 1:18.
Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine