>Madras, Metolius elect write-in candidates
Three weeks after the Nov. 6 election, write-in results are in for the open seat on the Madras City Council and the three open seats on the Metolius City Council.
   With just 11 write-in votes, former Madras City Councilor Walt Chamberlain was elected to a seat on the council currently filled by Kevin O'Meara, who did not seek re-election.
   Chamberlain served on the council from 2007 through 2010, and was one of two people who had submitted letters expressing interest in a seat vacated by former Councilor Jon Young, who moved out of the city. Charles "Chuck" Schmidt, a former councilor from 1990-92, also submitted a letter.
   In October, Chamberlain asked the council to delay making an appointment to fill the vacancy; he hoped to be elected as a write-in candidate, which would allow him to serve a full four-year term, rather than filling the remaining two years of Young's term.
   In the Nov. 6 election, Mayor Melanie Widmer was re-elected with 1,201 votes, and councilors Tom Brown and Royce Embanks Jr., with 1,007 and 837, respectively. A total of 198 write-in votes were cast, with Chamberlain receiving the largest number -- 11.
   At the council's Nov. 13 meeting, before the write-in results were in, the council decided to wait to receive the abstract of votes rather than appointing one of the two men ahead of time. The results of the vote will be considered at the Madras City Council's next meeting Dec. 11, when they may also interview candidates for Young's position.
   The council also includes Richard Ladeby and Jim Leach.
   Metolius results
   For the city of Metolius, Bill Reynolds Jr. was elected mayor with 165 votes. In January, he will replace Susie Binder, who is currently filling out former Mayor Sandy Toms' term. Toms moved in September 2011.
   Binder, who has served on the council for the past 12 years, chose not to run for mayor, but was one of four who may serve on the council as a result of write-in votes; she received five.
   Councilor Bob Bozarth, who was appointed to the council in May, was elected with 12 write-in votes. Other write-in candidates were Patricia "Patty" Wyler, who is currently serving on the council and received three write-in votes, and John C. Chavez, who also received three write-in votes.
   Also serving on the Metolius City Council is John Wilhoite. Nancy Goodenow and Tia Powell, who did not run for re-election, will finish their terms at the end of the year.
   The Metolius City Council will approve the vote and decide whether to appoint someone to fill Bill Reynolds' position on the council, which will be vacated when he takes office as mayor in January.
   Culver results
   Culver Mayor Shawna Clanton, who has served on the Culver City Council since 2007, and been mayor since 2008, was re-elected with 249 votes.
   Councilors Nancy Diaz and Amy McCully were re-elected with 261 and 253 votes respectively, while Andy Byrd was elected to position 5 with 252 votes. That position was formerly held by Laura Dudley, who did not submit her name for election.
   The Culver council also includes Shannon Poole, Sharon Orr and Hilario Diaz. The council will approve the vote at its Dec. 17 meeting.
Go to top