Remember safety when schools open doors after Labor Day
- Woodburn Police Department
- Woodburn Independent - News
School will begin for most students in the Woodburn School District on Sept. 3.
The Woodburn Police Department is reminding the community to follow the laws, whether driving a vehicle, riding a bicycle or walking.
Parents who have children that will be walking or riding a bicycle to and from school are asked to take a moment and talk with them about the rules and being safe. Also remind them about strangers and to notify their teacher or parent if a stranger approaches them on the way to or from school.
Police recommend anyone who drives a vehicle takes a moment to become acquainted with Oregon driving laws.
Here are a few things to remember:The speed limit in a school zone is 20 mph. Depending on the sign (whether it indicates When lights are flashing, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. or When children are present) will determine when the 20 mph speed limit is enforced. All occupants in a motor vehicle must properly use a child safety seat, booster seat or seat belt, which properly fits them in the seat being used. Everyone who is under 16 years old must properly wear an approved bicycle helmet when operating a bicycle. Vehicles must yield to a person in a marked or unmarked crosswalk. The driver must yield to the pedestrian when the pedestrian is in the same lane as the vehicle or a lane adjacent to the lane the vehicle is in. If the crosswalk has a pedestrian signal, a driver must wait until the pedestrian is more than six feet from the lane the vehicle is in. When a school bus is stopped on a roadway with the red bus safety lights flashing, vehicles must stop and remain stopped while the red bus safety lights are flashing, before reaching the school bus. This applies to any school bus that is on the same roadway as a vehicle, unless there is a physical barrier between your vehicle and the school bus.
Officers will focus on these and other safety violations beginning Sept. 3. Anyone who would like more information on these traffic laws can refer to the Oregon Driving Manual, available from any DMV office or online.