by: LON AUSTIN?CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Crook County High School softball player Taylor Walker has been named player of the year for the Intermountain Conference. Walker, a catcher, directed the Cowgirl defense and helped the team to a 14-13 record.

Softball catcher Taylor Walker has been named Intermountain Conference softball player of the year.
   The Crook County High School senior leads a group of five Cowgirls who earned first-team recognition.
   Walker led the Cowgirls to a 14-13 overall record and a 6-10 mark in the IMC. She has started all four years of her softball career, three years at Crook County and one at Sisters, and has received all-league recognition in each of those years.
   Other Cowgirls joining Walker on the first team include pitcher Miranda Smith, first baseman Kelsee Martin, shortstop Jena Ovens, and outfielder Tasha Azbill.
   Azbill, a senior, did not begin playing high school softball until her junior year. Early in the season, she struggled from the plate. However, late in the year her bat came alive.
   Smith, a junior, led the league in innings pitched and it was not uncommon for her to pitch both games in a doubleheader.
   Martin and Ovens, who are just sophomores, anchored the Cowgirls defense. In addition, Ovens led the team in home runs with four.
   Three Cowgirls were also named to the all league second team. They include outfielder Emily Benton, utility player Emily Christiansen, and third baseman Loran Saenz. Saenz was also named to the squad as an honorable mention pitcher.
   Wade Kinkade of Bend Senior High and Mike Durre of Mountain View were named co-coach of the year, while Ashley Pesek of Redmond was named the pitcher of the year.
   2012 IMC softball all league team
   Player of the year — Taylor Walker, Crook County
   Pitcher of the Year — Ashley Pesek, Redmond
   Coach of the year — Wade Kinkade, Bend, Mike Durre, Mountain View
   First team
   Catcher — Taylor Walker, Crook County, Lisa Sylvester, Bend. First base — Kelsee Martin, Crook County. Second base — Alyssa Nitschelm, Redmond. Third base — Kiahna Brown, Redmond. Shortstop — Jena Ovens, Crook County, Kylie Durre, Mountain View, Katie Zellner, Summit. Outfield — Tasha Azbill, Crook County, Hayley Estopare, Summit, Marissa Duchi, Redmond, Jenna Henninger, Mountain View. Pitcher — Ashley Pesek, Redmond. Cassidy Edwards, Redmond, Miranda Smith, Crook County. Utility player — Mariah Defoe, Summit.
   Second team
   Catcher — Awbrie Kinkade, Bend, Erin Ware, Redmond. First base — Megan McCadden, Mountain View, Ashley Pesek, Redmond. Second base — Morgan Faast, Bend. Third base — Loran Saenz, Crook County, Carianne Elms, Mountain View. Outfield — Emily Benton, Crook County, Hannah Wickland, Mountain View, Meredith Berrigan, Bend, Taylor Dockins, Redmond. Pitcher — Shelby Wells, Mountain View, Megan Berrigan, Bend, Mariah Defoe, Summit. Utility player — Emily Christiansen, Crook County.
   Honorable mention
   Loran Saenz (pitcher), Crook County, Mackenzie Serbus, Mountain View, Shelby Abbas, Redmond, Hailey Chinadle, Bend, Morgan Freeman, Summit, Outfield, Lexi Kerns, Bend, Kendra Smith, Bend, Kendall Durre, Mountain View, Kendall Kramer, Bend, Jordan Scoles, Redmond, Quioncy Mate, Mountain View.
Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine