11-14 Thunderbolts win SC title a second time

THSC swimmers roll to victory in the Short Course Championships

CORVALLIS - The Thunderbolts blasted the rest of the state impressively at the Oregon Swimming 11-14 Short Course Championships in late-February.

The Thunderbolts' 59 swimmers earned the team a first-place finish for the second year in a row.

Thunderbolts swimmers topped the podium in 30 individual events and six relays.

Individual event champions were: Iseult McMahon (11) in the 500-yard free; Juame Martinez-Clavo (11) in the 100 IM; Anthony Nosack (11) in the 500 free, 100 back, 50 and 100 breaststroke, and 200 IM; Joshua Yadao (11) in the 50, 100 and 200 free, 50 and 100 butterfly; Paolo Casas (12) in the 100 and 200 IM; Myron Shen (12) in the 50, 100, 200 and 500 free, and 50 back; Tiffany Zhao (13) in the 100 and 200 breaststroke; Alex LaRosa (13) in the 100 and 200 free, and 100 and 200 fly, and 200 and 400 IM; Prudence Rooker (14) in the 400 IM; and Jonathan Zoucha (14) in the 100 and 200 fly.

The Thunderbolts also won two relays where they also broke Oregon Swimming records and earned national rankings. The 11-12 boys 400 free relay team of Paolo Casas, Sean Calkins, Joshua Yadao and Myron Shen clocked a time of 3 minutes, 39.94 seconds to break the previous record of 3:41.43 set by the Thunderbolts in 2010, and ranks them second in nation.

The 13-14 boys 800 free relay team of Ben Buchalski, Alex LaRosa, Cortlandt Nelsen and Jonathan Zoucha swam 7:11.33, shattered the previous record (set by the Hillsboro Heat in 2007) by 11 seconds, and is ranked first in the nation.

High Point Winners from THSC were Anthony Nosack and Josua Yadao (a tie for 11- year-old boys), Myron Shen (12-year-old boys), and Alex LaRosa (13-year-old boys).