Jim Caputo, far left, and Wade Willis, far right, won honors for best supporting actor and best actor in a musical, respectively, in The Full Monty, which was selected best musical during the Lakewood Theatre’s recent season.

The Lakewood Theatre Company/Lakewood Center for the Arts held its annual meeting and OTAS (Oregon Theatrical Awards Society) presentation June 30 at the Lakewood Center to celebrate the closing of its 55th season of plays and its 36th annual OTAS awards. Emcee for the evening was Bill Warner, Past President of the Lakewood Theatre Company/Lakewood Center for the Arts.

Artists recognized during the evening included:

Best Actress - Musical: Kelly Stewart as Millie in Thoroughly Modern Millie

Best Actor - Musical: Wade Willis as Jerry in The Full Monty

Best Supporting Actress - Musical: Jennifer Miser as Rosa Bud/Deirdre Peregrine in The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Best Supporting Actor - Musical: Jim Caputo as Dave in The Full Monty

Best Actress - Play: Sarah Lucht as Dotty in Noises Off

Best Actor - Play: Gary Powell as Lloyd in Noises Off

Best Supporting Actress - Play: Melissa Whitney as Brooke in Noises Off

Best Supporting Actor - Play: Grant Byington as Freddie in Noises Off

Choreographer: Millie Hoelscher for Thoroughly Modern Millie

Musical Direction: Sydney Lehman Steen for The Full Monty

Costume Design: Lindsay Kleinman for The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Best Set Design: Chris Whitten for Noises Off

Best Light Design: Drew Flint for The Full Monty

Best Director Musical: Greg Tamblyn for The Full Monty

Best Director Play: Don Alder for Noises Off

Best Musical: The Full Monty

Best Play: Noises Off

A special recognition award was presented to Dan Hallberg for his extensive volunteer work at Lakewood. In addition, G. Marie Fish, the theatre's wardrobe mistress since 1996, received the Heritage Award for her outstanding support of Lakewood over the years.

President Mark Birge also recognized and thanked board members Kathy Bussman, Dan Heine, Malcolm Mathes, Rocky Johnson, Kay Rhoney and Laura Gentry for spearheading various fundraising pro-jects throughout the year. Board member Fred Breuer was also recognized for his contributions in supervising renovation projects at the center.

Mary Goss, president of the Lakewood Center Associates, introduced scholarship committee member Nancy White who presented performing arts scholarship checks of $1,500 each to high school seniors Robert Calkins and Sarah Brosy.

In official business, the non-profit organization elected Mark Birge as president and Jerrry Koll as treasurer for one-year terms. Members elected to serve three-year board terms were: Birge, Koll, Tom Lasley, Bill Warner, Debbie Craig and Fred Baldwin. Goss, as president of Lakewood Center Associates for 2008-09, was elected for a one-year board term.

Submitted by Lakewood Theatre Company/Lakewood Center for the Arts

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine