Oregon State gets Georgia, Creighton, Arkansas-Little Rock in baseball regional

Oregon not in 64-team NCAA field

Oregon State will open the NCAA playoffs this weekend against underdog Arkansas-Little Rock.

Georgia and Creighton also are in the four-team, a double-elimination regional, which starts Friday at Goss Stadium in Corvallis.

The Oregon Ducks, who swept OSU over the weekend to deny the Beavers a Pac-10 title, did not get a berth in the 64-team Division-I tournament after placing eighth in the conference.

OSU (38-17) earned a No. 1 seed. Arkansas-Little Rock (24-32) is the No. 4 seed.

Georgia enters the national tournament with a 31-30 record, while Creighton is 44-14.

Arkansas-Little Rock entered last week's Sun Belt Conference tournament as the eighth seed, but went 4-0 and defeated Florida International (40-18-1) 4-1 in Sunday's final to earn its D-I tourney berth.

Creighton captured the Missouri Valley Conference tournament crown on Saturday, beating Wichita State 3-1.

Georgia took third in the Southeastern Conference tourney. The Bulldogs knocked off No. 2-ranked South Carolina 4-2 on Friday in an elimination and beat No. 3 Florida 4-3 on Saturday before falling out of contention with a 3-2 loss to the Gators.

Also making the postseason from the Pac-10: conference champion UCLA, Arizona State, Arizona, Stanford and California.

USC, which finished one spot ahead of Oregon, was left out of the tourney.

UCLA earned a No. 1 seed and will play host to a regional that includes No. 2 Fresno State, No. 3 Cal-Irvine and No. 4 San Francisco, the West Coast Conference champ.

Arizona State also is a No. 1 seed and will open against New Mexico in a regional at Tempe, Ariz., that includes Charlotte and Arkansas.

Arizona and Stanford are No. 2 seeds, and Cal enters as a No. 3.

OSU ticket information

Regional tickets are available for OSU season-ticket holders until noon Tuesday. The general public can buy all-session tickets starting online (osubeavers.com) at 8 a.m. Wednesday and at 1-800-GOBEAVS or at the Gill Coliseum ticket office starting at 9 a.m. Wednesday.

All-session tickets are $100 for reserved seats, $72 for adult general admission and $54 for student general admission. All-session tickets are good for the entire regional, with a minimum of six games and a maximum of seven.

Single-game tickets, if available, will go on sale on game day two hours before each game. These will be made available at the Goss Stadium ticket window (cash or check only). Single-game tickets are $20 reserved, $15 adult general admission and $12 student GA.

The Beavers have hosted 18 postseason games at Goss Stadium, going 15-3 with an eight-game winning streak. Of those 18 games, 11 have come during an NCAA regional, with the Beavers holding a 9-2 record in those games.

Oregon State last hosted an NCAA regional in 2006, taking all three games from Wright State, Kansas and Hawaii.

The eight national seeds

In order: Virginia, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida State, Vanderbilt, Texas, Rice.

Final Pac-10 standings

UCLA 18-9 (34-21)

Arizona State 17-10 (39-16)

Oregon State 17-10 (38-17)

Arizona 15-12 (36-19)

Stanford 14-12 (32-20)

California 13-13 (31-20)

USC 13-14 (25-31)

Oregon 11-16 (33-26)

Washington State 10-17 (26-28)

Washington 6-21 (17-37)