Eric Raya and Nathan Kranyak receive all-state honorable mention
by: John Brewington Cowapa All-League—Scappoose players receving all-league baseball honors included: (front, from left) Nathan Kranyak, Paul Revis, (back) Eric Raya, Chris Neifert, and Blake Updike. Neifert was also named to the first all-state team.

The Scappoose Indians had five players named to the Cowapa All-League Baseball Team in balloting last week.

The Tribe's Chris Neifert was chosen as a pitcher and Nathan Kranyak as a catcher on the first team. Eric Raya received first-team honors as a first baseman. Neifer would also make the all-state first team while Kranyak and Raya received all-state honorable mention.

Honorable mention went to Blake Updike in the infield and to Kody Backus as a utility player.

The Indians finished second in the Cowapa League behind Astoria, and qualified for the state playoffs with a win over North Marion. They lost in the first round at state to Douglas.

Cowapa League

All-League Baseball

First Team

Player of the Year-Conor Harber (A).

Coach of the Year-Brian Babbitt (A).

Pitcher-Chris Neifert (Sc); Conor Harber (A); Joel Slovak (Se); J.C. Previtera (B); Jeramy Poyer (A). Catcher-Nathan Kranyak (Sc); Evan Cain (A); Shea Rue (B). First Basemen-Jacob Davis (A); Eric Raya (Sc); Jimmy Smith (YC). Infielders-Marc Gallego (A); Grayson Partian (B); Ian Hawksford (Se); Nick Nelson (Se); Paul Revis (Sc). Outfielders-Jake McGraw (YC); Jon Perry (Se); Trygve Olsen (A); Joe Blake (YC). Utility-Andy Pittard (Se). DH-Garrett Soper (B).

Honorable Mention

Catcher-Walker Davis (YC). Infield-Blake Updike (Sc); Ryan Johnson (A); Cody Staebler (YC); Myles O'Loughlin (YC). Outfielders-Brook Johnson (Se); Eddie Soller (Se); Dillon Smith (A). Utility-Kody Backus (Sc); Taylor Fox (A); Joe Braden (YC).

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine