Ballots due in

Five days left to finalize your vote

Voters have five more days to cast ballots in several key races affecting Lake Oswego.

With the clock ticking on the 2008 election season - polls close Tuesday, Nov. 4, at 8 p.m. - a few options remain for voters who have yet to mail ballots.

There is an indoor ballot drop at the Lake Oswego Public Library, 706 Fourth St. The ballot drop is available during regular library hours, which are from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Thursday, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Friday and Saturday and from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday.

Last-minute voters can still find a ballot drop after library hours at a number of outdoor ballot drop locations. Outdoor ballot boxes are available 24 hours every day but will be locked at 8 p.m. on Nov 4.

The outdoor ballot boxes nearest to Lake Oswego are located at Oregon City City Hall, 320 Warner Milne Road, and at West Linn City Hall, 22500 Salamo Road.

Once ballots are cast, voters will replace a majority of the Lake Oswego City Council after terms of three city councilors and the mayor expire Dec. 31, 2008.

The three city council positions will be vacated by John Turchi, Frank Groznik and Ellie McPeak. Both McPeak and Turchi are ineligible to run again due to term limits. Groznik is not seeking re-election.

Seven candidates are vying for the positions. They are Devin Holz, Mary Olson, Sally Moncrieff, Jeff Gudman, Bill Tierney, Russell Jones and Justin Luber.

The three candidates earning the most votes in that race will be elected to the city council, joining city councilors Donna Jordan, Kristin Johnson and Roger Hennagin, who continue terms.

Mayor Judie Hammerstad also has served two consecutive terms and is ineligible to seek another term as mayor.

One of two candidates in the mayor's race will take the reins of the Lake Oswego City Council in January. Jack Hoffman, a land use attorney and former city councilmen, and John Surrett, a civic activist and businessman, are running for mayor.

The Lake Oswego School District is also asking local voters to renew its local option levy through 2015. A total of 12 percent of the school district's budget rests with voter approval of the levy. The levy has been in place since 2000, was reaffirmed by voters in 2004 and expires in 2009. The school district is asking voters to maintain its current rate of $1.39 per $1,000 of assessed property value to support schools.

Lake Oswego voters will also cast ballots for a number of statewide measures and elected offices, including the House District 38 race, which features Portland Republican Stephen Griffith and Lake Oswego Democrat Chris Garrett. There are two other Lake Oswego residents on the ballot: Republican Allen Alley in the state treasuer's race against Bend Democrat Ben Westlund and Republican Mike Erickson again Canby Democrat Kurt Schrader in the Congressional District 5 race.

There are also two contested races for Clackamas County commissioners and five local money measures.

Other local money measures ask for funding for the Oregon Zoo (Metro), Clackamas County library district, the Clackamas County branch of the Oregon State University Extension Services and Portland Community College. Property taxes would increase by approximately 87 cents per $1,000 assessed value if all of the local money measures were to pass.

Election results will be reported by the Lake Oswego Review online at on election night. Tallies in local races and on money measures will be posted as available.