Cassie Foltz, Cassie Galey, Cassidy Hoglund receive honorable mention
by: John Brewington Leslie Hancock, first team all-state

The Tribe's Leslie Hancock led a contingent of four Scappoose players, all infielders, with 4A all-state honors in softball.

Hancock, the Cowapa League Player of the Year, was the only member of the team to be selected for the first team. As a shortstop she had a .952 fielding average with just three errors on the season. She had a .467 season-long batting average with eight homers, 17 doubles, and 39 RBIs.

Three Scappoose players-pitcher Cassie Foltz, third baseman Cassie Galey, and second baseman Cassidy Hoglund-received honorable mention.

Only first-team all-league players are eligible for the state team. All the Cowapa League first team received some all-state notice. League champion Banks had three players on the first team, two outfielders and a utility player. Third-place Yamhill-Carlton didn't have a first team player, but did have three second team players, Cowapa League Pitcher of the Year, Molly Smith, a catcher and an infielder.

Oregon 4A All-State

Softball selections:

First Team

Pitchers: Jessica Slate, Cascade; Rylee Cartleton, Henley; Emily Kenyon, Central. Catchers: McKenzie Beeson, Cascade; JoElla Smith, Madras. Infield: Ashley Edwards, Cascade; Hannah Ganfield, Cascade; Amber Milliman, Sisters; Adrienne Pace, Henley; O.J. McCanley, Baker; Leslie Hancock, Scappoose. Outfield: Ashley Callihan, Stayton; Kaylin VanDomelen, Banks; Melissa Masters, Banks; Belen Betancourt, Mac-Hi. Utility: Marla Gooding, Banks.

Second Team

Pitchers: Molly Smith, Yamhill-Carlton; Maycee Abendschein, Madras; Jenny Yano, Ontario. Catchers: Kayla Brock, Henley; Chanelle Jensen, YC. Infield: Rebecca Christianson, YC; Sadie Birch, Douglas; Kaitlyn Pinner, Mazama; Lauren Short, Madras; Brittaney Niebergall, La Salle; Sierra Howerton, Baker. Outfield: Natlie Martin, Madras; Olivia Borden, Junction City; Kartina Warner, South Umpqua; Anne Goodell, Henley. Utility: Emilie Riggs, Sweet Home.

Third Team

Pitchers: LeAnn Valenta, Mazama; Alyson Boytz, Elmira; Chey Malinof, Sutherlin. Catchers: Jenny Tracy, La Grande; Darian Hamilton, Mazama. Infield: Kelsea Knee, Sutherlin; Kelsea McPhee, Mazama; Sarah Wyatt, Sweet Home; Laura Luther, Newport; Linzi Wallace, Central; Jessica Lay, Elmira. Outfield: Alyssa Harrington, Mac-Hi; Breezie Bowling, North Marion; Jenn Scott, Henley; Taylor Nieri, Sisters. Utility: Kaylie Grigsby, Mazama.

Honorable Mention

Pitchers: Megan Graville, Sweet Home; Kaitlin Erm, Mac-Hi; Cassie Foltz, Scappoose; Meranda Zanni, Douglas; Nena Dudley, Gladstone; Jamie Moe, Madras. Catchers: Tiffany Roemeyer, Sutherlin; Shelby Gillespie, Sweet Home; Cheyenne Kessler, Mac-Hi; Emily Thoms, Elmira. Infield: Megan Dean, Gladstone; Danielle Upton, Elmira; Kylie Atterbury, Sutherlin; Racheal Michaelis, YC: Chelsea Luna, North Marion; Cassie Galey, Scappoose; Karli Cortez, Mac-Hi; Sydney Brown, La Grande; Cassidy Hoglund, Scappoose; Alex Holcomb, Madras; Kylie Pumpelly, YC. Outfield: Chelse Frank, YC; Natalie Larsen, Banks; Breanne, Kottre, Cascade; Lexie Meier, Stayton; Mallory Smith, Madras; Morgan Johnson, Baker; Katie Virtue; Sweet Home; Courtney Bouille, Mazama. Utility: Tori Brown, Baker.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine