Hawks, OES tops in Metro


The Metro ski titles for both boys and girls came down to the final event with the Oregon Episcopal School boys and Southridge girls earning the championships by the slimmest of margins.

OES took second in the final boys race Saturday at Timberline, finishing 4.05 seconds behind Jesuit (4:27.81) in the slalom event. The Aardvarks, which won the season's first three races, finished two seconds ahead of third-place Southridge to secure the team championship - two points ahead of the Crusaders, who won the season's final three races.

OES, Jesuit, third-place Southridge and fourth-place Sunset each qualified as a team to the state meet, which is Thursday and Friday, March 1-2 at Mt. Ashland.

Jason Patterson won his first event of the season Saturday, finishing his two runs with a combined time of 1:28.67 to beat runner-up Michael Payne of Jesuit by 0.45 seconds. Joseph Petrusich finished 0.01 seconds behind teammate Payne to take third, while George Glass (1:29.56) completed a 2-3-4 finish by the Crusaders.

Logan Johnston led the Aardvarks on Saturday, placing fifth in 1:30.06. Johnston finished second in the overall individual standings behind teammate Chris Chapman, who won three of six races and placed 16th on Saturday. Patterson was third overall, while teammate Sean Stevenson (1:31.30) took sixth Saturday, helping the Apollos to their fourth-place finish in the final event.

Nicholas Burns (fourth), Petrusich (seventh), Glass (eighth) and Colin Yost (ninth) gave Jesuit four skiers in the top-10 of the final individuals standings.

Michael Bachkanji placed seventh in 1:32.60 to lead Southridge to Saturday's third-place finish. Gary Brown was the Skyhawks' highest placer in the season standings, taking sixth.

Westview was led by JJ Briles (12th) and Jeff Sankhagowit (13th), who both qualified for state in slalom, while Robert Marshall and Briles did likewise in GS.

The Southridge girls won on Saturday to secure the Metro title over Jesuit, who finished two points behind after placing third Saturday. The Skyhawksbeat runner-up Glencoe by 6.33 seconds. Southridge, Glencoe and Jesuit each qualified for state.

The Skyhawks were led by Jacqui (1:28.56) and Courtney Monahan (1:30.03), who finished fifth and sixth, respectively. Sunset's Maggie Greene won for the second time in '07with a total of 1:23.10 for her two runs, vaulting to fourth in the final individual standings. Greene earned an individual berth to the state meet in both slalom and GS for Sunset, which finished fourth Saturday and for the year.

Alicia McCord of OES was runner-up at 1:24.86 and won the individual season title, followed by Courtney Monahan in second and Jacqui Monahan in fifth. McCord qualified for state in both slalom and GS, while teammate Emma Paul qualified in GS for OES, who was fifth Saturday and in the final team standings.

Led by Mariel Wuilloud (sixth) and Kathryn Wessinger (seventh), Jesuit finished third Saturday. Wessinger and Wuilloud finished sixth and eighth in the individual season standings, while Mackenzie Dailey was 10th.

Beaverton's Brittany Oreste also earned a state berth in slalom.