Eight Metro League players are on the 21-man North roster for the annual North-South all-star baseball series. The three-game series for Class 6A and 5A players will take place this weekend at Goss Stadium on the Oregon State University campus in Corvallis. The teams will play one game at 6 p.m. on Saturday, June 18, and begin a doubleheader at 2 p.m. on Sunday, June 19. The North contingent includes four players who are headed for Oregon or Oregon State. The future Beavers are pitchers Jace Fry, a left-hander from Southridge, and right-hander Riley Wilkerson of West Linn, and the Duck prospects are righty pitcher Sam Johnson of Westview and infielder Jordan Spencer of Beaverton. The South team also has a few players from the metro area —Tualatin lefty pitcher Austin Richmond, who is bound for Washington State; Tigard outfielder Kyler Garcia, who has hit .488 this season, with 33 RBIs, seven triples and 12 stolen bases; and Tigard catcher Trevor Nix The complete North roster, with regular-season stats and other information: Pitchers –Jace Fry, Southridge (10-0, 1.42 ERA, 92 strikeouts in 59 innings); Sam Johnson, Westview (6-3, 2.64, 75 strikeouts in 58 1/3 innings), Jon Bjorklund, Sunset, (5-3, 0.86, 60 strikeouts in 49 innings); Riley Wilkerson, (West Linn, 11-1, 1.37, 52 strikeouts in 71 2/3 innings), Brock Pellow, Lake Oswego (8-1, 1.61, 60 strikeouts in 59 innings), Wyatt Whitten, Pendleton, (12-0, 1.36, 79 strikeouts, 61 2/3 innings), Sean Eberhardt, Putnam, (7-0, 1.10, 51 strikeouts in 45 2/3 innings); Jake Otness, Barlow, (7-1, 1.69, 56 strikeouts in 54 innings, headed for Pacific Lutheran). Catchers –Jake Azevedo, Southridge (.493, 24 RBIs, five home runs, 12 doubles, eight stolen bases, bound for Columbia Basin College); Dakota Farmer, Reynolds (.392, 28 RBIs, four home runs). Infielders –Jordan Spencer, Beaverton (.330, six home runs); Ryan Howard, Southridge (.400, will play for Seattle University); Adam Bell, Canby (.459, Pacific University); Cody Childs, Reynolds (.419, three home runs, 14 stolen bases); Dillon Abate, Cleveland (.474, 21 RBIs, four home runs, 19 stolen bases); Brandon Carow, Forest Grove (.437, seven doubles, Pacific University); Mike Umscheid, Sunset (.341, 24 RBIs, 10 doubles). Outfielders –Ike Van Pelt, Pendleton (.554, 35 RBIs, four home runs, eight doubles); Phil Belding, Westview (Northern Arizona); Parker Sherrell, Hood River Valley (.382, 22 RBIs, three home runs, Lane Community College); Taylor Hein, Canby (.405, five home runs, Linfield). North squad alternates are Michael Grewe of Lincoln, Taylor Sanders of Lake Oswego and Donnie Bradley of Westview. Scheduled starting pitchers for the North are Fry in Game 1 and Johnson and Wilkerson in Sunday’s doubleheader. The South, coached by 5A champion Sherwood’s Jon Strohmaier, will start Alex Robinett on Mountain View on Saturday and go with Richmond and McMinnville’s Zev Egli on Sunday. North coaches are Steve Antich from 6A champion Westview, Kevin Cave from 6A runner-up Central Catholic and Aaron Svarthumle of Westview. The all-star series is sponsored by the Oregon High School Baseball Coaches Association, Reser’s Fine Foods, Nike Team Sports and Community Newspapers/Portland Tribune. nThe all-star series also has picked an all-metro postseason team: Pitchers: Phil Belding, Westview; Jimmy Brakebush, Central Catholic; Spencer Cumiford, Wilsonville; Jace Fry, Southridge; Tanner Kichler, Sherwood; Jackson Luby, Wilsonville; Christian Martinek, Jesuit; Eric Najdek, Tigard; Jordan Ramp, Sherwood; Austin Richmond, Tualatin; Will Waterman, Lake Oswego. Catchers: D.J. Clark, West Linn; Will Taylor, Beaverton. Infielders: Donnie Bradley, Westview; Sam Johnson, Westview; Carson Kelly, Westview; Jake Lawrence, Sherwood; Tyler Rome, Sherwood; Codi Scanlon, Central Catholic; Jordan Spencer, Beaverton; Corey Van Domelen, Tualatin. Outfielders: Trent Calmer, Southridge; Kevin O’Connor, Tualatin; Michael Gonzalez, Wilsonville; Michael Stroble, Lake Oswego; Hunter Weiss, Central Catholic. Designated hitter: Ryan Susnow, Westview.

Go to top