Review earns ONPA accolades

by: ,

The Lake Oswego Review was named the best weekly newspaper in Oregon with a paid circulation of more than 3,501 in the 2007 Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association Better Newspaper Contest.

The Review also earned the contest's 'Sweepstakes Award' for receiving the most recognition among weekly newspapers in the contest. The newspaper claimed four first-place awards among the 15 honors it received.

The awards were announced Friday during the ONPA annual summer publishers' convention held at the Salem Conference Center.

They were based on work completed during 2006 and judged by members of the Virginia Press Association earlier this summer.

Staff reporter Cliff Newell took home two first place awards - one for Best Coverage of Business and Economic Features for his story on a group of whiz kids from Lewis and Clark College who produce electric cars; the other for Best General Feature Story for his story on Lake Oswego's Iron Workers' Cottage.

Photographer Vern Uyetake captured a first-place award for Best Feature Photo for his photo of a local girl having fun with a clown at the Lake Oswego Festival of the Arts.

Former city reporter Lee van der Voo - who now works at the Portland Tribune - took first place for Best Enterprise Reporting for her series of stories 'Whose Water is it?'

The Review's 'General Excellence' designation was a top honor for the newspaper, which has won four of the awards in the past 10 years.

'I'm very happy and really proud of our entire news team,' said Publisher J. Brian Monihan. 'A lot of hard work and dedication goes in to producing each and every newspaper. It's very special for everyone on our news team to receive an award. But to also be named the best weekly newspaper in the state and win the 'Sweepstakes Award' is tremendous.'

Among the other Review honors were:

Second Place

Martin Forbes, Best Page One Design and Best Editorial;

Uyetake, Best Section Front or Inside Page Design and Best Photo Essay;

Cori Bolger, Best Spot News Coverage and Best Feature Story: Personality;

van der Voo, Best Writing;

Barb Randall, Best Silk Purse Story;

Third Place

Bill Stewart and Matt Sherman, Best Sports Page;

Uyetake, Best Sports Photo and Best Photo Essay;

The Tidings, which shares newsroom facilities and some staff members with the Review, captured 13 ONPA awards, including a first place in the 'General Excellence' category for a newspaper with a paid circulation of 3,500 or less.

Tidings staff members also won:

First Place

Jim Hart, Best Enterprise Story;

Nicole DeCosta; Best Feature Story: Personality;

Second place

Uyetake, Best Section Front;

DeCosta, Best General Feature and Best Silk Purse Story.

Tracy Stepp (former editor), Best Editorial Page;

Third place

Stepp, Best Page One Design;

Staff, Best Special Section;

DeCosta, Best Spot News Coverage and Best Writing.

Altogether, papers from Community Newspapers collected 78 awards in the weekly and twice-a-week newspaper categories. Community Newspapers and the Portland Tribune were also honored with 9 awards in the 2007 Associate Members contest.

Of the 90 ONPA general member newspapers, 56 submitted entries in the 2007 Better Newspaper contest, and 55 of those won an award in one or more of the 26 categories. A total of 2,116 entries were submitted for the contest, of which 444 won awards.

ONPA also presented the Jerry Latham-Mail Tribune Award, which recognizes the daily and weekly newspaper with the highest percentage increase in circulation during the preceding year.

This year, the awards were presented to The Bulletin in Bend and the weekly Burns Times-Herald.

ONPA, founded in 1887, is a professional association of the state's daily and nondaily paid circulation newspapers.