by: submitted photo, Lake Oswego swimmer Ethan Agritelley, left, displays the medals he won at the state 10-and-under long-course swimming championships that were held recently in Albany. Agritelley wound up being the star of the meet, but several of his teammates also had a big weekend, said coach Kim Hay, shown with Agritelley.

With the force of 21 highly charged competitive swimmers, the Lake Oswego Swim Club recently traveled to Albany for the Oregon Swimming 2007 Long Course 10 and Under Age Group Championships.

The event is Oregon's premier competition, culminating the long course season of USA swimming competition for athletes 10 years of age and under, which requires rigid time standards to earn qualifying spots.

'As a team, the swimmers achieved numerous personal bests and top-three finishes, but the highlighted athlete of the meet was undeniably 8-year-old Ethan Agritelley,' exclaimed LOSC coach Kim Hay.

In the 8-and-under age group, a swimmer is only eligible for five individual events (50 meters of each of the individual competitive strokes and the 100-meter freestyle).

'Ethan not only qualified in each of these events, but achieved personal bests in four of the five and swam to be the 2007 state champion in all five individual events,' Hay said.

Agritelley, along with teammates Evan Carlson, Douglas Heymann and Quinn Joslin, earned bronze medals in the 200 medley and 200 freestyle relays. They also established new team records in these events.

If high-point award winners were presented at this event, as they are at 11-and-over state championships, Agritelley would have earned that title as well. Also earning top-three honors were: Ben Feil, Tyler Joslin, Lucas Rodgers, and Austin Weng.

In addition to Agritelley, Carlson, Heymann, Quinn and Tyler Joslin, Feil, Rodgers and Weng, the LOSC team included Balsbough, Claire Cranch, Lisa Douglas, Brianna Dyrdahl, Madeline Eller, Kate McNamera, Meggi Mysore, Florrie Naylor, Alice Park, Johanna Parker, Tristan Parker, Annie Rodgers and Jennifer Ruan. The coaching staff includes Hay, Nathan Piers-Vanderploeg and Carolyn Heymann.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine