Collette lands Metro Council post

Milwaukie councilor will replace Brian Newman
by: ,

The Metro Council unanimously appointed Milwaukie City Council-woman Carlotta Collette to replace District 2 Metro Councilor Brian Newman, who resigned Oct. 6.

She was selected over Lake Oswego resident Sue Marshall with whom she tied for support following a runoff vote by the Metro Council.

Metro councilors made the decision during a work session Tuesday afternoon.

Collette re-signed her position on the Mil-waukie City Council and the Metro Council oath of office was administered by Clackamas County Circuit Judge Susie Norby.

Metro Council President David Bragdon nominated Colette for the position last week.

'I think she's got a breadth of interests, and she's got a good track record across the whole district,' Bragdon said.

He noted that the pool of candidates as a whole was impressive.

'There was a vacancy back in the late '90s, and we got just three applicants at that time,' he said. 'I was pleasantly surprised to have so many good people be interested.'

District 2 covers most of urban Clackamas County, including the cities of Lake Oswego, Rivergrove, Gladstone, Johnson City, Milwaukie, Oregon City and West Linn. It also includes a portion of Southwest Portland in Multnomah County.