Softball: The ages 9-10 Little League tournament starts Saturday in Eugene
by: DAN BROOD ON TO STATE — Tualatin City's (from left), Camille Hall, Lily Marshall and Kara Larsen celebrate during the District 4 championship game.

EUGENE - The Tualatin City Little League ages 9-10 softball team had a lot of fun as it captured the District 4 tournament championship.

Now, the Tualatin City girls are looking to have even more fun - as they take on the best teams from around the state.

By winning the district crown, Tualatin City now advances to play at the Oregon State Tournament, which starts Saturday at Sheldon High School in Eugene.

'It's awesome,' Tualatin City's Kara Larsen said of the upcoming state tournament following the team's 17-7 win over Willow Creek in the District 4 title game played July 9 at Alpenrose Dairy.

'I think we'll do good,' Tualatin City's Kendra Zuckerman added.

Tualatin City will open the eight-team, double-elimination tournament Saturday when it faces Hood River, the District 5 champion, in a first-round game starting at 9 a.m. on the varsity softball field at Sheldon High School.

If Tualatin City wins its opening game, it will next play either South Salem/Sprague, the District 7 champion, or Willamette, the District 1 champ, in a tournament winner's bracket semifinal game Tuesday at 9 a.m.

If Tualatin City loses its opening contest, it will play either South Salem/Sprague or Willamette in a losers' bracket first-round game Monday at 9 a.m.

Other teams at the tournament include the yet-to-be determined District 2 champion, District 3 champion LaGrande, District 6 champion Klamath Falls and the yet-to-be determined District 9 champion.

And Tualatin City is happy to be part of the state tournament field.

'Some of the girls were crying,' TC's Camille Hall said. 'We're so happy.'

'It's a pretty big thing,' Tualatin City manager Joey Hall said.

The tournament championship game is scheduled for 9 a.m. on July 30. If a second championship game is needed under the double-elimination format, it will be played at noon on July 30.

Other members of the Tualatin City team include Brooke Clinton, Ella Hillier, Elizabeth Hillier, Riley-Anne Hoffman, Lily Marshall, Rachel Peters, Lindsay Stadick and Sydney Wagner.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine