Jesuit's Paige Hall and Jim Speciale win top honors for 4A softball
by: MILES VANCE, 4A’S BEST — Jesuit sophomore Paige Hall racked up a 27-2 pitching record to earn Class 4A Pitcher of the Year honors for 2006.

In a fitting tribute to a season that saw Metro League softball teams make up three-quarters of the state playoff semifinalists, five different Metro stars won first-team all-state honors for 2006.

And two of the state's biggest honors went to state champion Jesuit, which claimed Pitcher of the Year Paige Hall and Coach of the Year Jim Speciale.

Hall, a sophomore who's already a two-time Metro League Pitcher of the Year, earned her spot as the state's top pitcher by piling up a 27-2 record and a 0.25 ERA.

Speciale, meanwhile, earned his nod by taking the Crusaders to the state championship for the first time in school history and leading his team to a 28-3 overall record. Jesuit beat Barlow 2-1 in nine innings to win the Class 4A state title.

But while those two - along with Player of the Year Lauren Grill of Tualatin - walked away with top honors, there were plenty more accolades to go around for the Metro League stars.

Also earning first-team nods to the Class 4A team were Southridge junior pitcher Megan Schaefer, Beaverton senior shortstop Keri Joyce, Jesuit sophomore center fielder Mary Claire Brenner and Westview senior center fielder Rebecca Gawlista.

Also honored were: Southridge junior catcher Krista Kelly, second team; Southridge senior third baseman Brooke Fogwell, second team; Westview sophomore third baseman Robin Gawlista, honorable mention; Southridge junior first baseman Erin Guzy, honorable mention; and Southridge sophomore outfielder Megan Rupp, honorable mention.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine