Meisner, Hays, Sanchez, Ramsey get the nod to Class 4A and 5A first teams

by: JAIME VALDEZ - La Salle tight end Sean HaysLa Salle Prep and Gladstone both got players named to the Class 4A football 2012 all-state first all-star team in recent balloting by coaches.

La Salle senior Colin Meisner got the nod to the elite first unit both for his play at running back/wide receiver and defensive back.

La Salle senior Sean Hays made the first team for his play at tight end.

Gladstone senior Oscar Sanchez was selected a first-team all-star both as an offensive lineman and defensive linebacker.

Meisner in 2012 averaged 7 yards a carry, rushing 183 times for 1,283 yards and 17 touchdowns; he had 17 receptions for 383 yards and three touchdowns. Meisner also had 46 solo tackles and four interceptions. Hays had 16 receptions for 223 yards.

Four other La Salle players received recognition. Senior Mark Holenstein was selected to the all-state second team both at quarterback and placekicker.

La Salle senior lineman Sam Eichhorn made second-team all-state both on offense and on defense.

La Salle senior center T.J. Budetti and La Salle offensive lineman Jonathan Nagel both received honorable mention in the balloting.

Gladstone sophomore Handsome Smith made second-team all-state as a defensive back and he received honorable mention at running back.

Gladstone senior lineman John Hampton was selected to the second team on defense, and Gladstone senior Stetson Richardson made the second team as a punter.

Meisner was the 2012 Tri-Valley Conference Offensive Player of the Year; Eichhorn was TVC Lineman of the Year; Sanchez was TVC Defensive Player of the Year.

Oregon City senior running back Mitchell Thompson got the nod to the Class 6A second all-state team at running back. Thompson last fall averaged 7.8 yards a carry, rushing for 2,162 yards and 24 touchdowns in 10 games.

Thompson was the 2012 Three Rivers League Offensive Player of the Year.

Three Milwaukie seniors received recognition in Class 5A. Richard Ramsey was named first-team all-state at defensive back; wide receiver Kendrick Bourne was a second-team all-state selection at wide receiver; Milwaukie lineman Jake Leary received honorable mention for his play on offense and on defense.

Leary was Northwest Oregon Conference Lineman of the Year.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine