Hays, Walters and Noren are first-team all-state selections

by: JONATHAN HOUSE - La Salle Preps Sean HaysThree local athletes have been named first-team all-state in basketball.

Named to the 2013 elite first teams were: Oregon City’s Montana Walters in Class 6A, Milwaukie’s Alexis Noren in Class 5A and La Salle’s Sean Hays in Class 4A.

Walters, who is headed to NCAA Division I Santa Clara University, helped lead Oregon City High School’s girls basketball team to the Three Rivers League championship and third place at the Class 6A State High School Girls Tournament in 2013. A 5-5 point guard, Walters averaged 9.9 points and 8.1 assists, as the Pioneers went 26-2 on the 2012-13 season.

by: JAIME VALDEZ - Milwaukies Alexis NorenNoren, a 4.0 student who is headed to the University of Puget Sound on an academic scholarship, led Class 5A Milwaukie to a 22-4 record, including a school-record 21 wins in a row, and Milwaukie’s first undefeated league season [14-0 in the Northwest Oregon Conference] in girls basketball in school history.

A 5-10 guard/forward, Noren during the past season excelled in every phase of the game, averaging 15.5 points, 5.7 assists, 5.4 rebounds and 4.2 steals. Noren scored a school-record 1,099 points during her high school career; she also made a school-record 400 assists and was second all-time in career rebounds, with 433.

by: JAIME VALDEZ - Oregon Citys Montana WaltersHays, who is headed for Whitman College, helped lead La Salle Prep’s boys basketball team to a 25-3 record, a conference championship, and third place at the Class 4A Boys State Tournament.

A 6-8 post, Hays in 2012-13 averaged 12.8 points, 60 percent shooting, 9.1 rebounds, 2.2 blocks and 1.9 assists.

Lake Oswego 6-6 senior Calvin Hermanson was named the Class 6A boys Player of the Year. Sandy 6-7 senior Justin Justin Adams made the Class 5A boys first team of all-stars; Molalla senior guard Ryan Potter joined Hays on the Class 4A boys first team.

Several local players were named to all-state second teams: West Linn junior Ryan Shearmire and Lake Oswego senior Connor Griffin in Class 6A boys; Oregon City senior Johanna Paine and Clackamas senior Deeshyra Thomas in Class 6A girls; Wilsonville senior Dylan Livesay in Class 5A boys; and La Salle junior Sterling Swift and Madras sophomore Mariah Stacona in Class 4A girls.

Among those meriting honorable mention in the all-state balloting were: West Linn sophomore Anthony Mathis, La Salle senior Jacob McGraw, and Gladstone sophomore Molly Webster.

Contract Publishing

Go to top