New OSAA alignments will become final on Oct. 28

Three local schools will change leagues for sports competition, beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, if the Oregon School Activities Association Executive Board and OSAA Delegate Assembly follow the final recommendation of the OSAA Classification and Districting Committee.

In its final proposal for realignments, released last week, the committee proposed that La Salle be moved from the Class 4A Tri-Valley Conference to the Class 5A Northwest Oregon Conference. La Salle’s enrollment and the enrollment cutoff point between Class 4A and 5A (675 cutoff) makes it necessary to move La Salle up to 5A, according to the committee.

The committee also recommended that Oregon City and Clackamas high schools be moved from the Three Rivers League to the Mt. Hood Conference.

Under the proposal, the new Northwest Oregon Conference would include: La Salle, Hillsboro, Milwaukie, Putnam, Liberty, Parkrose, Sandy, St. Helens and Wilsonville.

La Salle athletic director Glenn Elliott commented:

“La Salle was caught a little off guard with the late proposals and the news that the enrollment numbers for 5A [cutoff] were dropping. Now that the news has hit, we will get together as a staff and begin planning for this new transition.

“Even though we have enjoyed our success in 4A and have appreciated the relationships built over time with members and communities of the Tri-Valley Conference, we will take the challenge of this new assignment — begin new goals and relationships — in the spirit of good sportsmanship.”

La Salle, with an enrollment of 676, would be the smallest school in the NWOC, where Sandy (1,173 students) and Hillsboro (1,185 students) would have the largest enrollments. Milwaukie’s enrollment is 886 and Putnam’s enrollment is 1,090.

Sherwood would leave the NWOC to move up to Class 6A, where the Bowmen would compete in a new nine-team Three Rivers League, along with Newberg, Tigard, Tualatin, St. Mary’s, West Linn, Canby, Lake Oswego and Lakeridge.

Oregon City and Clackamas would join Barlow, Centennial, Central Catholic, David Douglas, Gresham and Reynolds in a new eight-team Mt. Hood Conference.

Gladstone, with an enrollment of 620, would remain in the Class 4A Tri-Valley Conference, along with Estacada, Molalla and Madras. Corbett and Crook County would join the TVC.

North Marion would move to the Class 4A Oregon West Conference, where the Huskies would compete with Cascade, Stayton, Newport, Philomath and Yamhill-Carlton.

New alignments for the next four-year time-block will become final on Monday, Oct. 28, when the OSAA Executive Board and OSAA Delegate Assemble rule on the Classification and Districting Committee’s recommendations at their regular October meeting.

The executive board will meet at the Holiday Inn in Wilsonville at 9 a.m. on Oct. 28, with the Delegate Assembly meeting to follow at 1 p.m.

Public input will still be accepted on Oct. 28, and through email, before then, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., according to the OSAA. Any email will be shared with the OSAA Executive Board for review and discussion, an OSAA spokesman said.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine