Twenty seven votes separated incumbent school board Chairman Mark Greene and John James as of Friday, May 24, in the race for the Zone 5 position of the Estacada School Board.

by: ISABEL GAUTSCHI - Mark GreeneWith all the precincts counted, Greene was ready to declare victory.

“I am excited about working with a new school board,” Greene wrote. “It is always exciting to get new faces and ideas.

“We will be inviting the new board to our workshop on June 5. The Oregon School Board Association will provide a workshop for them to learn boardsmanship 101, because the powers a School Board have are not always obvious.

“We will also share all of the goals and re-branding activity that has taken place so far. I am hoping for a smooth and seamless transition to the new school board.”

While Greene claimed victory, James was not quite ready to concede as of late last week.

Clackamas County Elections Division posted updated results on Wednesday, May 29, after the Estacada News deadline. For the latest de-

tails, visit


In other contested races, Angela Riedel won a four-year term in the School Board Zone 1 seat with 70 percent of the vote.

by: ISABEL GAUTSCHI - Angela Riedel Riedel had run against incumbent Tim Schultz on a platform of school board transparency.

“The people that take the time to go to the meeting deserve to know your rationale behind the decision,” she said. “If they have a question, they deserve to have an answer.”

Incumbent Sonja McCarty was re-elected for a two-year term in the School Board Zone 3 seat with 70.1 percent of the vote.

She had touted community involvement in her run against challenger Sean Drinkwine.

by: CONTRIBUTED PHOTO - Sonja McCarty“Yes, the School Board is elected, but we’re here to represent the people in our zone. I would love to see more people take an active role,” she said.

In uncontested races, Jeromy Adamson took the School Board Zone 2 seat and Rick Mudrow was re-elected to the Zone 4 seat. Both are four year-terms.

Fire board

Matthew Silva was re-elected to a four year term in the Estacada Fire Director Position 1 race.

Silva has been on the fire-board since 2001.

He touted his long history on the board and professional experience as a firefighter and paramedic in his race against challenger Rick Snedeker.

by: CONTRIBUTED PHOTO - Matthew Silva“Obviously, I have a love for this town and this community and I have a responsibility of bringing my knowledge of the fire service and a responsibility to the citizens of this town for another four years if re-elected,” Silva had said.

Edwin Thoreson was elected to a four-year term in the Estacada Fire Director Position 4 seat in an uncontested race.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine