School board vacancy listed in Gaston

The Gaston School Board has a vacancy and is seeking applicants to fill it. Vice-chairwoman Cathy Fastabend has resigned her position as board member to move to Central Oregon to be with her family. Her board position extends through June 30, 2013. Anyone interested in being appointed to Fastabend’s slot may complete the application “School Board Vacancy Candidate Information Sheet” located on the school district website, The school board meets on the second Thursday of every month at 6 p.m. in the high school building.

Banks board OKs compact group

The Banks School Board Monday night approved a list of educators to serve on an achievement compact committee through June 2014. They include Deb Mott (classified staff), Wendy Holland (classified staff), Vicky VanDomelen (Title I reading teacher), Sue Harsin (teacher), Kevin Cliff (teacher), Shawnda Sewell (elementary principal), Shelley Mitchell (junior high principal), Mark Everett (high school principal) and Bob Huston (superintendent/ACAC facilitator). The committee is charged with analyzing and setting goals for student achievement and creating specific plans for improvement related to the identified goals. Committee members report to the Oregon Education Investment Board, said Huston.

FGHS students are

AP scholars

Forty-seven students at Forest Grove High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP exams taken last spring. Three FGHS students — Kira Hall and Josh Schneider, who graduated in June, and senior Peter Lommen — qualified for the National AP Scholar award.

Thirteen FGHS students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade point average of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. They are Kyle Brown, Kira Hall, Anders Mason, Jessica Randall, Josh Schneider, Rosie Steinbach and Liza Wyckoff-White, who graduated in June; and seniors Luke Berdahl, Kara Bruckert-Frisk, Peter Lommen, Drake Morgan, Jessica Steigerwald and Elena Torry-Schrag.

Four FGHS students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. They are Peter Orlowsky, who graduated in June; senior Paul Schot and juniors Kaitlin Cecchni and Jonathan Faris.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine