Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Winkler leads in school board election


Hayes, Waterman win school panel slots; Banks incumbent Will Moore trails in early results

Lonnie Winkler was leading in the race for a Forest Grove school board seat with 43 percent of the vote in early returns Tuesday evening. And in Banks, longtime incumbent Will Moore was losing his school board seat to opponent — and friend — Raymond Mott.

In Forest Grove, Sebastian Bannister Lawler trailed Winkler with 35 percent of the vote for the Position 3 seat and Jeff Cooper lagged behind with 20 percent, according to preliminary results released by the Washington County Elections Office. The seat is currently held by Alisa Hampton, who did not run for reelection.

John Hayes, who ran unopposed, and Charless Waterman, who was leading with 63 percent of the vote, will both likely win seats for Positions 1 and 2, respectively. Waterman’s opponent, Erin Fivecoat, remained largely a mystery to voters during the election, not answering requests for information from the News-Times.

Winkler currently serves as an alternate on the school district’s budget committee. He also serves on the district’s parent advisory committee and is vice president of the Fern Hill Parent Club. He is the senior manager of field operations for EID Passport, Inc. in Hillsboro. He has one child at Fern Hill Elementary and another who will start school in 2014.

Waterman was campaigning for a seat she has held for just two months. She was appointed in March to fill the open seat left by the death of Gil Jimenez. She has a child who attends Neil Armstrong Middle School.

This will be the first time since two school board members were unseated in a recall election in November 2011 that all five members of the Forest Grove School board have been elected by voters.

If elected, Hayes, Waterman and Winkler will begin their four-year terms July 1.

In Banks, challenger Raymond Mott was far ahead of incumbent Will Moore with 59 percent of the vote for the school board's Position 2 seat. Two unopposed candidates, Norie Dimeo-Ediger and Maureen Okerstrom, were elected to Position 1 and Position 4, respectively.

Election results will be certified by the county elections office June 10.