Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Fern Hill's Peters 'Counselor of Year'

Forest Grove staff member in running for national honor

Photo Credit: COURTESY PHOTO - Marinda Peters is the Oregon School Counselor of the Year.Fern Hill Elementary School counselor Marinda Peters has been named the 2014 Oregon School Counselor of the Year.

The award is given by the Oregon School Counselors Association to recognize counselors who run “outstanding, comprehensive school counseling programs,” said Forest Grove School District Chief of Staff Connie Potter.

As a state winner, Peters will be considered for the National School Counselor of the Year award.

At Fern Hill, Peters provides weekly classroom guidance and runs small counseling groups. She serves on the district’s Equity Leadership Team as well as the Response to Intervention (RTI) planning committees.

“Marinda does an outstanding job,” said Assistant Superintendent John O’Neill. “She is committed to meeting the needs of the students, parents and staff members that she serves. To be recognized as Oregon’s Counselor of The Year is a well deserved recognition.”

Peters was hired at Fern Hill in 2008 after graduating from Pacific University’s master’s program in counseling psychology. She later completed a school counseling licensure program at Portland State University and is currently a Ph.D. student in Oregon State University’s counselor education program.

Previous honors for Peters include the Community Service Award from Pacific University, the Teaching Tolerance Grant from the Southern Poverty Law Center and the Emerging Leaders Fellowship from the Western Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (WACES).


Local Weather



Forest Grove


Humidity: 59%

Wind: 9 mph

  • 4 May 2015

    Partly Cloudy 64°F 42°F

  • 5 May 2015

    AM Showers 61°F 41°F