The scene on victory lane was an emotional one on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway, as Greg Walters of Banks climbed out of his T&G Trucking/Warpaint Motorsports Graphix No. 97 Late Model Series car after winning the 67-lap Doug Walters Classic.

For the fourth year in a row, Walters claimed victory in the race named in honor of his late father, Doug, the former Sunset Speedway promoter and racer.

The Doug Walters Classic was the latest installment of the DAA Northwest Extreme Late Model Series, and it marked the third triumph of the 2012 season for Walters, who leads the series in victories and is chasing his third straight championship.

Starting fifth, Walters wasted no time taking the lead at the 1/4-mile Banks bullring, moving into first place by the fifth lap. Scott Winebarger of Corbett led up until that point, and he would turn out to be the only other leader on the night.

Walters went on a tear after taking the lead, lapping the field all the way up to fifth place in the 67-lap main event, which represented the late Doug Walters’ racing number.

On lap 37, Tim Goodwin of Lebanon managed to move his way up to second place after making his way past Jerry Schram, and Goodwin would hold on to the position until the checkered flag. Schram, from Vancouver, Wash., would finish in third place, followed by Jason Wines of Lebanon in fourth, which would be the last car on the lead lap. Hometown driver Rob Ireland completed the top five.

Up until the main event, Wines was running the table by setting the fast time of the night with a lap of 14.209 seconds, and he also won a heat race and the trophy dash. Goodwin was the other heat race winner.

Jeremy Martin led the shortened USRA Modified feature on Saturday to become the eighth different winner in the classification this year. Martin took over the lead from Mike Graham on lap four and led the rest of the way.

Veteran John Ireland won his first Street Stock race of 2012 after several lead exchanges. Andrew Olson led the opening eight laps until Jeff Brookshire managed to make the pass, but on lap 29 Ireland would gain the lead and hold on for the win.

Stan Asanovic earned his second Pure Stock win of the season after taking the lead from Shawna Long on lap 14 of the main event. Asanovic joins Joey Tardio as the only repeat winner in the class after seven completed features.

Andrea Tardio received her third victory of the season and her fourth win overall on Saturday night in the Women’s classification.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine