Failed loading XML file.
StartTag: invalid element name
Extra content at the end of the document



Viking Homecoming begins with court, parade and culminates with game against the Hillsboro Spartans — and a big dance

The Vikings of Forest Grove High School are commemorating this week’s homecoming with old-school glitz and glamour. The theme for 2013 is “Old Hollywood” – the classic red carpet era of the 1920s, 30s and 40s.

Members of the court were chosen in a tapping ceremony on Oct.4, but many homecoming activities are still to come.

On Thursday, students will get fired up for the annual homecoming game with a 9:30 a.m. pep assembly. Later that day, Vikings clubs and fall sports team members will enjoy a homecoming dinner at 5:30 p.m. in the school’s new cafeteria. A homecoming bonfire will commence at 7:30 p.m. near the varsity baseball field, and all are welcome to attens that event, which will include activities and entertainment.

The community is also welcome to come out to Friday’s homecoming parade, which will begin at 4 p.m. at the school district office. The parade route heads north on Main Street before going west on 26th Avenue. After that, the route turns north again, this time on B Street, before heading west on Bonnie Lane and then moving onto Nichols Lane before ending at the high school. The weather should be perfect for the event, as the forecast for Friday, as of Tuesday afternoon, calls for a high in the upper 60s, partly cloudy skies and no chance of rain.

That evening, the Vikings football team will go for a homecoming victory against the Spartans of Hillsboro. Kickoff is at 7 p.m. The homecoming queen and king will be crowned at halftime of the contest.

The week of fetes concludes on Saturday with the homecoming dance, which is scheduled from 8 to 11 p.m. at the high school.

On the girls’ side, the members of this year’s court are Alli Davis, Natalie Brandt, Hayley New, Bailey Sahnow, Kaitlyn Jamieson, Makenna Sewell, Rachel Mason, Mayra Gomez, Annaleesa Egg, Sydney Littleton and Mary Hutchins.

The male members of the court are Aaron Orr, Geremia Lizier-Zmudzinski, Jimmy Garcia, Chano Dominguez, Zac Collins, Ben Acord, Tate DeSully, Michael Garcia, Anton Kujawa, Reggie Lopez and Gio Tayetto.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine