Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Awards expand for prep stars


Each sports will be recognized at annual Oregon Sports Awards

A host of new prep categories, and host Neil Everett from ESPN, will spice the 61st annual Oregon Sports Awards.

The stage show takes place Sunday night, Feb. 10, at Nike's Tiger Woods Center.

Everett, a SportsCenter anchor and commentator, is a University of Oregon graduate.

He'll oversee the 90-minute-plus production, which also will feature various celebrity award presenters to be announced.

The stars of the show, of course, will be the many finalists and winners of 38 awards — athletes, coaches and conributors from the ranks of professionals, collegians, other amateurs, high school and Oregon communities.

For the first time, these expanded Oregon Sports Awards will honor high school athletes from every Oregon School Activities Association-santioned sport, with finalists from the 6A through 1A classifications and around the state.

The other 19 award categories have been part of the show before — some of them dating to the event's inception in 1948 as the Hayward Banquet of Champions.

The OSA will give trophies to the Bill Hayward Amateur Athletes of the Year (male and female), the Harry Glickman Pro Athletes of the Year (male and female), the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year, the George Pasero Teams of the Year, the Ad Rutschman Small-College Athletes of the Year (male and female), the Nike-Steve Prefontaine Prep Distance Runner of the Year (to a high school senior) and the Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.

Other categories include the Les Schwab Friend of Sport, the Terry Porter Make It Better Award (presented by the Portland Trail Blazers), the Ultimate Fan Award (presented by the Portland Timbers), the Game-Changer Award and the DNA Award.

The new high school awards will go to the state's top competitors in football, boys and girls soccer, volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, wrestling, boys and girls swimming, baseball, softball, boys and girls track and field, boys and girls golf, and boys and girls tennis.

A statewide panel of experts votes on the awards.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. for a preshow reception with light hors d'oeuvres and beverages.

The show starts at 7 p.m.

Coffee and desserts will be served after the production.

Tickets are $50 each. To order or for more information, contact Chelsea Corrado at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 503-721-7477, ext. 24.

Visit oregonsportsawards.com for extensive information on the show, its history and awards.

Also, follow the event on Twitter (@ORSportsAwards) and Facebook (Oregon Sports Awards).