Other Pamplin Media Group sites

INSIDERS (Sponsored Content)

What can your business gain from a professionally designed website? A lot, as it turns out.
Brought to you by Karen Sottile, Nature's Pet Market - PET GROOMING AND SUPPLIES INSIDER -
Brought to you by Gengee Ramirez, Prestige Senior Living Huntington Terrace - ASSISTED LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Dan Schofield, Weston Dealerships - AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INSIDER -
Brought to you by Karen Johnston - All About Automotive - AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INSIDER -
Brought to you by Breana Nickila and Seth Dickinson - PDX OASIS Senior Advisors - SENIOR ADVISOR INSIDERS -
Brought to you by Maleesa Madsen - Cherry Park Plaza - SENIOR LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Donivon McCord - McCord Construction - CONSTRUCTION INSIDER -
Brought to you by Rob Cook - Nancy's Floral - FLORAL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Randy Preston - Honke Heating - HEATING AND COOLING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Cindy Passannante - C.P. Trips - TRAVEL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Gengee Ramirez, Prestige Senior Living Huntington Terrace - Assisted Living INSIDER -


Gresham's Opinions

OUTLOOK PHOTO: JOSH KULLA - Gresham Mayor Shane Bemis delivers his State of the City speech Wednesday at the Army National Guard Armory, 544 N.E. Division St.
March 24, 2017

Mayor Bemis delivers message of optimism for Greshamites

by Steve Brown
I departed the event feeling good about our local government, but mainly feeling even better about the town where we do business.
KOIN PHOTO - Mhmm... delicious cancer.
March 24, 2017

LETTER: Parks should be smoke-free for all users

by Brittany Duffy-Goche
Tobacco use is the leading cause of preventable death and disease in our state.
Mikel Kelly
March 24, 2017

Where did our society really start going wrong? In gym class

by Mikel Kelly
I'm not one of those P.E. haters who's waited more than half a century to sound off about this.


FILE GRAPHIC - Legislators outdo state agencies in high fees, long waits for public records.
March 21, 2017

Legislature should require more transparency

by Editorial Board
'Our first object should therefore be, to leave open to him all the avenues to truth.' - Thomas Jefferson
KOIN PHOTO  - Medicines containing pseudoephedrine are shown behind the counter at the pharmacy.
March 21, 2017

Oppose bill, keep pseudoephedrine out of reach in Oregon

by Marianne Daoust
Pseudoephedrine fuels our illicit drug trade while depleting our community resources.
FILE PHOTO - Shirley Craddick
March 21, 2017

Cooperation leads to better sidewalks in Gresham

by Shirley Craddick
It was a difficult question for everyone. But, working together, Gresham and Metro were able to work out a solution.
COURTESY PHOTO - This meme appears on the Dublin Airport Facebook profile, warning visitors to the country to avoid the scathing mistake of refering to the day as 'St. Patty's Day.'
March 17, 2017

It's St. Paddy's Day, not St. Patty's Day

by Steve Brown
Happy St. Paddy's Day, everyone. But be careful how you say it.
CONTRIBUTED - Sarah Radcliffe
March 17, 2017

Jail is no place for the mentally ill

by Sarah Radcliffe
Between 40 to 80 percent of people incarcerated in the jail have mental health concerns.
EO MEDIA GROUP PHOTO - Gillnetters fishing in Columbia River.
March 17, 2017

Commission applauded for following the science

by Joan Dukes
The issue is a Kitzhaber policy that has failed to meet its own goals.
COURTESY GRAPHIC - County commissioners agreed to a land deal in December, purchasing the 3.54-acre property for approximately $1.25 million.
March 14, 2017

EDITORIAL: Sheriff's HQ is a welcome addition to Troutdale

by Editorial Board
There are a couple of intrinsic benefits to having the Sheriff's Office in downtown Troutdale.
March 14, 2017

EDITORIAL: Let your thoughts be heard on Imagination Station

by Pamplin Media Group
Wood vs.plastic: The Troutdale City Council will wait to see how expert builders want to handle the redesign of Imagination Station.
OPB PHOTO - Roman Zaragoza-Sanchez is shown here with two of his children.
March 14, 2017

LETTERS: Why didn't he pursue citizenship earlier?

by Readers
What's Inside: SnowCap dinner and auction event a smashing success, Jaywalkers own some of responsibility for collisions
WIKIPEDIA PHOTO - Not Pictured: President Donald J. Trump.
March 09, 2017

LETTERS: What? Me worry?

by Readers
What's Inside: Many ways to end homelessness, Rock salt can damage Mount Hood, too.
FILE PHOTO - Rep. Mark Johnson
March 09, 2017

Leadership needed to narrow state's funding gap

by Rep. Mark Johnson
The irony of this situation is that we are experiencing record general fund revenues in Oregon.
FILE PHOTO - An ODOT traffic sign.
March 07, 2017

Release of public records crucial in review of ODOT's performance

by Pamplin Media Group
Lawmakers are being denied the information they need to assure themselves that the review was done well.
FILE PHOTO - SUN program teacher Jonathan Wolloch shows students how to collage.
March 07, 2017

Put social workers back in our schools

by Kelly Skellenger
Put simply, four out of five students with mental health issues go unaided. We can do better.
FILE PHOTO - Mikel Kelly
February 27, 2017

There's fake news, and then there's genuine fake news

by Mikel Kelly
We can read (and write, for that matter) just about anything we want.
COURTESY WIKIMEDIA/OREGON STATE SENATE - Oregon State Senate districts, shown by blue Democrats and red Republicans.
February 27, 2017

Redistricting will move Oregon forward

by Dennis Richardson
To ensure fairness, process must be free from partisan influences.
FILE PHOTO - A man places a dot where he lives at a Metro-hosted trail open house.
February 27, 2017

LETTERS: Metro leaves a mess behind on existing trails in the area

by Readers
What's Inside: Give the women in your life a break, put yourself in their jeans
FILE PHOTO - Steve Bates
February 23, 2017

Oregon's wounded warriors deserve passage of Senate Bill 694

by Steve Bates
Do we still care about our disabled veterans? They made a sacrifice for all of us.
WIKIPEDIA - This fellow really does live in a trash can.
February 23, 2017

LETTER: Please come to visit, but take the trash with you

by Claire Hocking
Apparently I live in a trash can, one Corbett reader writes.
FILE PHOTO - Steve Brown
February 21, 2017

You can help shape Outlook opinion pieces

by Steve Brown
I'm inviting people from East County to join me in forming an Outlook editorial board.
FILE PHOTO - Adam Davis
February 21, 2017

My View: Most residents unaware of budget crisis

by Adam Davis
If Oregonians don't understand the magnitude of the problem, they will not make the needed compromises.
FILE PHOTO - Elliot Forest
February 21, 2017

Treasurer did well in forest decision

by The Times
No one walked away from last week's meeting happy. But that doesn't mean it wasn't the right thing to do.
FILE PHOTO - Peter Courtney (left) and Tina Kotek (right) stand with Gov. Brown.
February 16, 2017

Our Opinion: Time to talk details on budget deal

by Editorial Board
Peter Courtney and Tina Kotek are doing more than they let on.

Don't miss the local news

PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - LOGO
Feb 16, 2017

LETTERS: Boy Scout says teachers deserve to be paid

by Readers
What's Inside: Protect the right to reproductive health, Trump administration is hurting animals, too
FILE PHOTO - Is your kid amazing?
Feb 14, 2017

Give us your Amazing Kids nominees soon

by Editorial Board
The selected Amazing Kid will be honored along with outstanding youths from throughout the metro area.
FILE PHOTO - Bill MacKenzie
Feb 14, 2017

Put a cork in it: Oregon needs hiring freeze now

by Bill MacKenzie
Most states, when they confront financial hard times, put a hold on hiring.
FILE PHOTO - There's nothing weird about the Metro area's traffic congestion, it's just aggravating.
Feb 10, 2017

True confession: Avoiding a longtime friend

by Paul Keller
There's nothing weird about the Metro area's traffic congestion, it's just aggravating.
FILE PHOTO - These students are assuredly entranced by a pine cone.
Feb 10, 2017

LETTERS: Don't let funding evaporate for outdoor school…

by Pamplin Media Group
Even More Gresham Letters Inside: Saying nothing is saying something
FILE PHOTO - Rep. Bill Kennemer
Feb 07, 2017

Commission betrays interests of sport anglers

by Rep. Bill Kennemer
My View: 175,000 Columbia River sports anglers are being betrayed and taken for a ride.
FILE PHOTO - Jim Schlachter
Feb 07, 2017

Our mission: Prepare all students for success

by Jim Schlachter
Public schools are for everyone. Federal law prohibits public schools from asking about, or maintaining information on, a student's immigration status.
FILE PHOTO - President Donald Trump
Feb 07, 2017

LETTERS: 'Alternative America' is not my America

by Readers
More Letters Inside: Mr. Trump demonstrates serious lack of judgment
PMG - LOGO
Feb 03, 2017

Our Opinion: Racial disparities will continue without better…

by Editorial Board
As with many projects like this, they found more questions than answers.
Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward
Feb 03, 2017

Lawmakers: Change legal age to buy tobacco products to 21

by Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward and Rep. Richard Vi
Tobacco 21 is bipartisan, and it's all about saving money and saving lives.
FILE PHOTO - Reporter Shasta Kearns Moore
Feb 03, 2017

LETTER: Compromise needed to heal divided nation

by Don Neary
'I really enjoyed the column by reporter Shasta Kearns Moore.'
FILE PHOTO - A government tax assesor in Clackamas.
Jan 31, 2017

My View: Sensible property tax reform has merit

by Jeff Cole
Oregon is the only state not to reassess taxable value on a property when it is sold or transferred.
TRIBUNE PHOTO - Shasta Kearns Moore
Jan 31, 2017

My View: The ends often don't justify the means

by Shasta Kearns Moore
It is easy to cast doubt on someone's motivations. It is much harder to address their issues and experience.
FILE PHOTO - The Oregon Capitol building.
Jan 27, 2017

Legislators must dig in or face long session

by Editorial Board
The Legislature won't start until next week, but lawmakers already are behind schedule.
FILE PHOTO - Mark Johnson
Jan 27, 2017

State budget proposals lack necessary reforms to fill in $1.8…

by Rep. Mark Johnson
'I am working with a group of bipartisan legislators toward a comprehensive plan that will do three things.'