Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Glencoe's 'Drowsy' will wake you up


Music and comedy.

Glencoe High School will present the best of both this weekend and next with its production of the Tony Award-winning “The Drowsy Chaperone.”

In this witty comedy-musical, a man reminisces about a fictional musical from the Roaring ‘20s called “The Drowsy Chaperone.”

As the contrived musical plot is revealed — complete with tap numbers, dazzling Charleston dances and skating — the audience comes to understand the ridiculousness and genuine comfort that musical theater brings to the man and to thousands of others the world over.

Glencoe’s young actors got a lesson in a classic style and also learned about the highs and lows of early 20th century musical theater, said director Lori Daliposon.

“The production’s central theme also hits a strong chord with the group. The musical’s central idea that performing arts can lift people out of depression and give them hope on a dark day resonates in a very real way for many of the performers and technicians for this show,” she explained.

The show runs Feb. 21, 22, 27 and 28 and March 1 at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets can be purchased in advance through SHOWTIX4U.com. Opening night tickets are $8; Feb. 27 tickets are $7; all other nights are $10. The play is recommended for ages 13 and up.

Cast members include Riley Gibson, Lindsey Stimpson, Stewart McGinnis, Dhan Cabalitasan, Jerod Packard, Kaleb Bacchetti, Maddie Ogden, Manny Contreras, Tommy Sepulvida, Andrew Murphy, Emily Upton, Taya Dixon, Jessica McClaury, Scott Lyman, Cody McConnell, Samanta Dowd, Cody Roecker, Eliza Gibson, Eli Ashby, Destiney Baker, Sushumna Canakapalli, Chidube Egbo, Jessica Dotson, Arturo Ramirez, Maddy Costa, Sean Foster, Veronica Garcia, Daniel Smith Elizabeth Calma, Maddie Buss, Jeremy Chu, Ashley Gaston, Savannah Justen, Ali Strelchun, Reyna Cox and Shi Jones.

The technical crew includes Sammy Sagar, Melissa Hampton, Amanda Kishlock, Gabi Guzman, Jesse Donnelly, Taylor Bennett, Autson McBride, Austyn Daskalos, Dani Gardner, Virginia Squasic, Preston Confer, Allie Leyson, Amber Holland, Bronwyn Grover, Erin Ruark, Ally Yoshioka, Madison Fike, Adriel Maneely, Natalie Staihar, Claire Murphy, Beth Lekas, Claire Edington, Emily Stonier, Nathalia Sottile, Nicole Gebbie, Rebecca Dan and Jenna Corso.