Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Washington County sees plethora of filings for public offices

Listed below are filings for Washington County offices as of the deadline Tuesday, March 8.


(Four-year terms, except as indicated)

Commissioner District 1 (Part of Beaverton, Aloha, Cooper Mountain, Reedville): Dick Schouten of Beaverton, incumbent, elected 2000.

Commissioner District 3 (Durham, King City, Sherwood, Tigard, Tualatin, part of Wilsonville): Roy Rogers of Tigard, incumbent, elected 1984; Glendora Claybrooks of Tualatin.

Sheriff: Pat Garrett, incumbent, served since 2011. If he receives a majority, he will be deemed elected.

Justice of the Peace (six-year term): Dan Cross; Kevin Kelley. The incumbent since 1991, James Shartel, is not running.

Ballot measures:

34-243: Countywide bond issue for $77 million for upgrades to emergency radio communications system.

34-244: City of Sherwood charter amendment to require voter approval of residential taxes and fees.

To be designated: Gaston School District bond issue.


(Four-year terms)

Councilor District 3 (parts of Washington and Clackamas counties): Craig Dirksen of Tigard, incumbent, elected 2012; Gerritt Rosenthal of Tualatin.

Councilor District 5 (North and Northwest Portland, also part of Washington County): Sam Chase of Portland, incumbent, elected 2012; Colby Clipston of Portland.


(Six-year terms)

Position 1: Ted Sims, newly appointed; Tim Marble.

Position 4: Eric Butterfield, served since 2010.

Position 10: Suzanne Upton, served since 1999.


(Four-year terms; list includes only districts with parts of Washington County)

District 12 (Parts of Washington and four other counties):

Republican: Brian Boquist of Dallas, incumbent, elected 2008; also in House 2005-09.

Democrat: Ross Swartzendruber of Salem.

District 14 (Part of Washington)

Democrat: Mark Hass of Raleigh Hills, incumbent, served since 2008; also in House 2001-07.

Republican: None filed.

District 18 (Parts of Washington and Multnomah)

Democrat: Ginny Burdick of Portland, incumbent, elected 1996.

Republican: None filed.


(Two-year terms; list includes only districts with parts of Washington County)

District 24 (Parts of Washington and Yamhill):

Republican: Ron Noble of McMinnville. The Republican incumbent is Jim Weidner of Yamhill, who is leaving.

Democrat: Ken Moore of Yamhill.

District 26 (Parts of Clackamas, Washington and Yamhill counties)

Republicans: John Boylston of King City, A. Richard Vial of Hillsboro, Matt Wingard of Wilsonville. The Republican incumbent, John Davis of Wilsonville, is leaving.

Democrats: Ray Lister, Patrick Whewell, both of Wilsonville.

District 27 (Part of Washington)

Democrats: Darin Campbell of Portland, Sheri Malstrom of Beaverton. The Democratic incumbent is Tobias Read of Beaverton, who is running for state treasurer.

Republican: None filed.

District 28 (Part of Washington)

Democrat: Jeff Barker of Aloha, incumbent, elected 2002.

Republicans: Gary Carlson, Daniel Martin, both of Aloha; Alton Mozingo II of Beaverton.

District 29 (Part of Washington)

Democrat: Susan McLain of Forest Grove, incumbent, elected 2014.

Republican: Juanita Lint of Forest Grove.

District 30 (Part of Washington)

Democrats: Janeen Sollman of Hillsboro. The Democratic incumbent is Joe Gallegos of Hillsboro, who is not running again.

Republican: Dan Mason of Hillsboro.

District 31 (Parts of Washington and Multnomah; Columbia)

Democrat: Brad Witt of Scappoose, incumbent, served since 2005.

Republican: None filed.

District 32 (Part of Washington; Clatsop and Tillamook)

Democrat: Debbie Boone of Cannon Beach, incumbent, elected 2004.

Republican: Bruce Bobek of Astoria.

District 33 (Parts of Multnomah and Washington)

Democrat: Mitch Greenlick of Portland, incumbent, elected 2002.

Republican: John Verbeek of Portland.

District 34 (Part of Washington)

Democrat: Ken Helm of Beaverton, incumbent, elected 2014.

Republican: Donald Hershiser of Portland.

District 35 (Parts of Washington and Multnomah):

Democrat: Margaret Doherty of Tigard, incumbent, served since 2009.

Republican: None filed.

Independent: Jessica Cousineau of Tigard.

District 37 (Parts of Clackamas and Washington)

Republican: Julie Parrish of West Linn, incumbent, elected 2010.

Democrat: Paul Southwick of Tualatin.


(Terms as indicated)

Senate (Six years)

Democrats: Ron Wyden of Portland, incumbent, elected 1996, also in U.S. House 1981-96; Kevin H. Stine of Medford, Paul B. Weaver of Toledo.

Republicans: Mark Callahan of Portland, Sam Carpenter of Bend, Dan Laschober of Wilsonville, Faye Stewart of Cottage Grove.

Independent Party: Steven C. Reynolds of Portland, Marvin Sannes of Salem.

House (Two years)

District 1 (Includes Washington County, part of Multnomah)

Democrats: Suzanne Bonamici of Beaverton, incumbent, elected 2012; Shabba Woodley of Beaverton.

Republican: Jonathan Burgess of Tigard, Brian Heinrich of Dundee, Delinda Morgan of Gaston.