Featured Stories

Burn ban goes into effect Saturday

The warm, dry weather has prompted the issuance of a burn ban in the city of Hillsboro.

The burn ban extends across all of Washington County. Hillsboro Fire and Rescue, in conjunction with the Washington County Fire Defense Board Chief and the Oregon Department of Forestry, have issued the ban on burning effective at 12:01 a.m., Saturday, June 20. A burn ban is declared each year based on weather conditions, moisture levels and the relative fire danger. It will remain in effect until further notice. The burn ban includes: n All backyard burning; n All agricultural burning; n Warming, ceremonial or religious fires or cooking fires outside of an approved pit or devise are restricted and may require an inspection and permit. Contact your local fire department for additional details. The burn ban does not include recreational fires (cooking fires within an approved fire pit or barbeque) Persons intending on using fire in this manner should use caution. Backyard burning is regulated by the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality has been prohibited in Hillsboro since June 15, the end of the spring backyard burning season. Residents who violate the burn ban are subject to fines. Additional information on burning within the city can be obtained from the Burn Line at 503-681-6204.


Local Weather





Humidity: 57%

Wind: 10 mph

  • 29 Jun 2015

    Mostly Clear 88°F 59°F

  • 30 Jun 2015

    Sunny 90°F 56°F