Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Get tickets now for John McLoughlin Soiree

The McLoughlin Memorial Association will hold its fifth annual Dr. John McLoughlin Soiree beginning at 7 p.m. Nov. 7 at the historic Ainsworth House, 19130 S. Lot Whitcomb Drive in Oregon City.

The gala is a fundraiser for the McLoughlin Memorial Association’s heritage sites and projects, including the Rose Farm and McLoughlin House museums. The event features a portrayal of Dr. McLoughlin, the founder of Oregon City, wine tasting of Christopher Bridge Wine Cellars, refreshments, live music by Saw Tale Ridge and silent auction.

Tickets to the gala are $30 each. Tables for eight people may be purchased for $200. Tickets include a souvenir wine glass.

A raffle will also be held; the grand prize will be the 2014 Oregon City Woolen Mills tribute blanket, made by Pendleton Woolen Mills. Fifth in a series, the 2014 blanket depicts a circa-1920 children’s cowboy and Indian pictorial. Tickets are $5 each or six for $25.

The Oregon City Woolen Mill was known for bright colors and images. The company was one of Pendleton’s biggest competitors in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Pendleton’s tribute series pays homage to the American mills that pioneered the weaving of Indian trade blankets.

Those attending are encouraged to wear tartan or dressy plaids or period clothing.

For more information, call Denyse McGriff at 503-656-3912.

Add a comment

Local Weather



Lake Oswego


Humidity: 86%

Wind: 13 mph

  • 28 Mar 2015

    AM Clouds/PM Sun 64°F 45°F

  • 29 Mar 2015

    Partly Cloudy 70°F 45°F