LOHS and Lakeridge teens bring home awards

by: SUBMITTED PHOTO - Lake Oswego High School students earned awards in a recent DECA competition.The DECA competition local students competed in last month doesn’t refer to the numerical prefix for the number 10, although many students from Lakeridge and Lake Oswego high schools finished in the top 10 in various categories.

About 800 Oregon students competed in categories such as business and marketing in the Oregon DECA State Career Development Conference from Feb. 23 to 25 in Portland. DECA is a nonprofit organization with the aim of preparing students for college and careers in marketing, finance, hospitality and management via extracurricular programs.

Lake Oswego High School business teacher Ryan Durrett said his 31 charges did well, walking away with 32 finalist medals, six top-three trophies and two event champion trophies.

Lakeridge High School business teacher Richard Van Kaupp said the 17 Pacers who competed earned six finalist medals, and “two students finished second in the state’s most competitive event, Sports and Entertainment Team Decision”: Reilly Kirk and Camila Merlo SUBMITTED PHOTO - Lakeridge High School students were honored in a recent DECA competition.

Several Lakers automatically qualified for the International DECA Competition from May 3 to 7 in Atlanta, Ga.: Jenny Chandler, Cassie Cumberland and Kim Griggs in the Community Service category; Chrissy Rumpakis in Entrepreneurship and Jenny Chandler and Addie Farance in Hospitality.

Lakeridge finalists included Zach Garrison, Phil Zevenbergen, Jack Bolen and Kodiak Berkoff. Reilly Kirk and Sean Koval made it into the top five in Hospitality Services Testing. Lakeridge also pocketed the Up Membership Award and placed second in Membership Increase, Van Kaupp said.

Several LOHS students finished in the top 10 for their events: Collin Calhoon, Blaine Danielson, Caroline Dorman, Kiki Dussin, Jonathan Griffiths, Ariya Hajari, Kate Hearon, Katie O’Brien, Harrison Reece, Nick Reuter, Morgan Reno, Taylor Yob, Brandon Warner, Ike Worth and Lauren Zurcher.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine