Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Awards mark end of Lakewood Theatre Company's 61st season


'Show Boat' named Best Musical; 'The Mousetrap' wins Best Play

by: SUBMITTED PHOTO: LAKEWOOD THEATRE COMPANY - Pictured (left to right): Robin Woolman, Best Supporting Actress in a Play; Richie Bowen, Best Supporting Actor in a Play; Jay Pevney, Best Actor in a Musical and Best Supporting Actor in a Musical; Jennifer Davies, Best Actress in a Musical; Margie Boulé, Best Actress in a Play; Laila Murphy, Best Supporting Actress in a Musical; Geffery Simmons, Best Featured Performer; Steve Knox, Best Director of a Play; Ron Daum, Best Director of a Musical; and Laura Hiszczynskyj, Best Choreographer.Lakewood Theatre Company and the Lakewood Center for the Arts celebrated the end of their 61st season of plays this week with the presentation of the Oregon Theatrical Awards Society prizes.

Nominees for the OTAS Awards are judged by a panel of judges who attend all shows. Performers are judged on role conception, vocal/physical interplay and performance impact on the audience. Directors are judged on conception and interpretation of the play, use of performers as groups and overall impact.

All Lakewood Theatre Company members receive ballots.

The awards are given each year to honor those involved in productions at Lakewood Theatre Company. The first awards, which were handed out in 1971, were framed photographs from the shows. Over the years, the award evolved into a free-standing plaque designed by Jim Conway.

Artists recognized during the evening included:

BEST ACTRESS – MUSICAL: Jennifer Davies as Magnolia in “Show Boat”

BEST ACTOR – MUSICAL: Jay Pevney as King Arthur in “Monty Python's SPAMALOT”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – MUSICAL: Laila Murphy as Julie LaVerne in “Show Boat”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – MUSICAL: Jay Pevney as Captain Andy Hawks in “Show Boat”

BEST ACTRESS – PLAY: Margie Boulé as Zorah Block in “Inspecting Carol”

BEST ACTOR – PLAY: Gary Powell as Larry Vauxhall in “Inspecting Carol”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – PLAY: Robin Woolman as Ms. Casewell in “The Mousetrap”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – PLAY: Richie Bowen as Giles Ralston in “The Mousetrap”

BEST FEATURED PERFORMER: Geoffery Simmons as Joe in “Show Boat”; Carmen Brantley-Payne as Queenie in “Show Boat”

BEST MUSICAL DIRECTION: Jon Quesenberry for “Show Boat”

BEST COSTUME DESIGN: Marychris Mass for “Show Boat”

BEST SET DESIGN: Sean O'Skea for “Show Boat”

BEST LIGHT DESIGN: Jonathan Hart for “Show Boat”

BEST CHOREOGRAPHER: Laura Hiszczynskyj for “Show Boat”

BEST DIRECTOR, MUSICAL: Ron Daum for “Show Boat”

BEST DIRECTOR, PLAY: Steve Knox for “Greater Tuna”; Tyson Stephenson for “The Mousetrap”


BEST PLAY: “The Mousetrap”

BETTY KINGSBURY HERITAGE AWARD (for exemplary service to the theatre): Steve Knox and Toni Tringolo

SPECIAL AWARDS (in recognition of outstanding service): Zach Peak, running crew; Addie Underwood, running crew